1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

missing .MYI files - need help!

Discussion in 'MySQL' started by heapseo, Feb 24, 2006.

  1. #1
    I know the basics of mysql, and use phpmyadmin via my host.

    I noticed several mysql errors on tiptopvillas.com recently (still there) which, when logged into phpmyadmin relate to missing .myi files. This isn't a problem with all my tables, i think the MyIsam ones are ok and the innodb ones have the problem. Whenever I click on a table name it says 'table.MYI' file missing. I contacted my host who basically said they hve no idea and I should hire someone to sort it out for me.

    I do though, know enough about mysql to know that it is their fault nd most likely something happened to the server then saving teh database, or rebooting the server. I am at a bit of a loss with what to do, given my limited knowledge and my host's unhelpful response.

    I searched these forums and found a similar thread where shawn suggested checking something bout runtime in phpmyadmin, but I don't get the option in phpmyadmin to check this and i don't know how to access the command line version of the mysal table to do it that way.

    ANY help is really appreciated, I really need to get this fixed but feel like I keep running into brick walls!!

    Cheers in advance guys.
     
    heapseo, Feb 24, 2006 IP
  2. lschmidt

    lschmidt Peon

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    lschmidt, Feb 24, 2006 IP
  3. Lordo

    Lordo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    58
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    190
    #3
    I think you will have to deal with it from shell access (ssh). It is quite easy then. You will:
    mysql
    use table `table_name`;
    repair table `table_name` USR_FRM;
     
    Lordo, Feb 25, 2006 IP
  4. heapseo

    heapseo Peon

    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    is that the same as using 'repair' in cpanel? If so i have tried that and it didn't work, it said all was repaired but didnt actually do anything. Is there anything I can doo without shell access? I don't currently have it and I am pretty sure my host will not let me.
     
    heapseo, Feb 25, 2006 IP
  5. Lordo

    Lordo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    58
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    190
    #5
    It is not the same. phpMyAdmin uses a regular repair:
    repair table `table_name`;
    But in most cases, the file could have been damaged and it needs to be restored from the frm file.
     
    Lordo, Feb 25, 2006 IP
  6. heapseo

    heapseo Peon

    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    ok, thanks. my host is dragging their heels, mking it near impossible for me to do anyhting about this, especially without ssh access. will passthis info on though.

    cheers.
     
    heapseo, Feb 26, 2006 IP
  7. heapseo

    heapseo Peon

    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    ok, so i know i need to use those commanda mentioned above to fix this, but i dont have ssh access to the server.

    For some reason my host won't even try this from their shell, and is simply saying that because I didnt back up the database myself there is nothing they can do about it.

    I am at a bit of a loss as to what to do here, any suggestions anyone?
     
    heapseo, Feb 26, 2006 IP
  8. RectangleMan

    RectangleMan Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    132
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    210
    #8
    You can still execute that command via phpmyadmin using the sql query.
     
    RectangleMan, Feb 26, 2006 IP
  9. Dejavu

    Dejavu Peon

    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    53
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    You said you have access to phpmyadmin? You can type the sql command there, no need for shell access.
     
    Dejavu, Feb 26, 2006 IP
  10. heapseo

    heapseo Peon

    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    thanks everyone, i hve tried doing the repair table command via phpmyadmin, as stated above. When i type:

    REPAIR TABLE `availability` USR_FRM

    for example, i get the following error:

    #1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'USR_FRM' at line 1

    any ideas what I am doing wrong? Does it matter that all the damaged tables are innodb tables and not myisam?The myisam tables were unaffected.

    thnks
     
    heapseo, Feb 26, 2006 IP
  11. Shoemoney

    Shoemoney $

    Messages:
    4,474
    Likes Received:
    588
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    295
    #11
    REPAIR TABLE `availability` USR_FRM ;

    what happens if you do a analyze ?
     
    Shoemoney, Feb 26, 2006 IP
  12. heapseo

    heapseo Peon

    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    what is an analyze? sorry for the questions but as you may have guessed databases are not mystrong point!
     
    heapseo, Feb 26, 2006 IP
  13. heapseo

    heapseo Peon

    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    ok, assuming you meant analyze `availability`; I get the following:

    #1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'availability`' at line 1
     
    heapseo, Feb 26, 2006 IP
  14. heapseo

    heapseo Peon

    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    ok, analyze table availability gives a Msg_Type 'error' and Msg_Text 'can't find file availability.MYI (errno:2)
     
    heapseo, Feb 26, 2006 IP
  15. Shoemoney

    Shoemoney $

    Messages:
    4,474
    Likes Received:
    588
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    295
    #15
    if you want to give me access I will try to help you... i think you are just not syntatically doing things properly (also my typo doesnt help =P )
     
    Shoemoney, Feb 26, 2006 IP
  16. heapseo

    heapseo Peon

    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    thanks shoemoney, pm'ed you :)
     
    heapseo, Feb 26, 2006 IP
  17. Shoemoney

    Shoemoney $

    Messages:
    4,474
    Likes Received:
    588
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    295
    #17
    I shot my mouth off not realizing I have to catch a plane to nyc in a few hours and am not finished packing... I think you will have to restore from a backup if you have one. It looks super weird.
     
    Shoemoney, Feb 26, 2006 IP
    heapseo likes this.
  18. heapseo

    heapseo Peon

    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    ok, thanks for taking a look. I will hve to hound my host a bit more then i guess!! Super weird does not sound good argh!

    have a nice flight!
     
    heapseo, Feb 26, 2006 IP
  19. heapseo

    heapseo Peon

    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    are there any other myql peeps here that can offer any advice?
     
    heapseo, Feb 26, 2006 IP
  20. Lordo

    Lordo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    58
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    190
    #20
    PM me the information and I will see what can be done.
     
    Lordo, Feb 26, 2006 IP
    heapseo likes this.