1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Migrating from ASP to .NET

Discussion in 'C#' started by N_F_S, May 18, 2007.

Hello DP members,

I've been working with a pure ASP for 3 years now. Is it hard to migrate to .NET (aspx) ? Anyone tried it? What language is the easiest to migrate, VB ?

Anyone's experience would be interesting to know, and how long it took you to migrate.

N_F_S, May 18, 2007 IP
    Briant likes this.
  2. Clark Kent

Clark Kent Guest

Best Answers:
    It is not hard, I migrate more than 20 projects in a few weeks.
    .NET is so powerful and while migrating possibly your line count of codes will be less. Migrating to Vb.net is can be easy if you don't know C syntax.

Clark Kent, May 18, 2007 IP
  3. N_F_S

N_F_S Active Member

Best Answers:
    Clark, I tried long time ago, I think 1,5 years ago.....and all I did was a test page with a connection to database. It seems much different from pure asp.

Would you rewrite existing asp to .net if you knew both? Or if its aitn broken I shouldnt fix it? I think if I knew .net, I would only write in it with new projects, no ?

N_F_S, May 18, 2007 IP
  4. Clark Kent

Clark Kent Guest

Best Answers:
    It may seem different at the first place but when you finish a project, the others will be so easy, trust me. The hard part is always leaving common habbits. I feel the same things at first but when I finished my first project, the others become so easy.

Clark Kent, May 19, 2007 IP
  5. ccoonen

ccoonen Well-Known Member

Best Answers: