Maximum CPC you can afford on an adwords campaign

Discussion in 'Google AdWords' started by falco85, Jan 29, 2006.

  1. #1
    I think that this result may be useful for everyone so I thought to share it :)

    As a result from my experiments using adwords to generate a revenue, I have started building a mathematical model in order to obtain some results from it.

    The variables are:


    The relations between them are:

    Being CLICKS = MAX_PER_DAY / CPC

    Using shorter variable names and playing with them a bit the result is:

    a = b*c
    d = e*f
    g = b*c*e*f
    h = e*(b*c*f - i)

    where i = CPC and h is the net revenue.

    Since we want the net revenue > 0, this means e*(b*c*f - i)>0 coming to the two conditions:

    e > 0 (of course, we assume e i.e. clicks > 0 because we buy them)

    and

    i < b*c*f

    Where i in this case is the maximum CPC you can afford in order to have a net revenue.

    To be more clear, the maximum CPC you can afford is smaller than the product of the sale price, the sale commission and the CTR.

    For example, if you sell an article worth $20, where your commission is 5% and your estimated CTR is 5%, the maximum CPC you can bid is $0.05 . In order to be safer you can define a risk factor R greater than 1 of your choice, so the formula would become

    i < b*c*f*R^(-1)

    I have made a simple XLS file helping you to calculate your maximum CPC that you can find here: http://www.forumboosting.com/maxcpc.xls (will be active in a short time, got temporary problems with my FTP)

    I am developing this mathematical model to bring more results and more implementations, using statistical methods and time dependant solutions (for example if you want to track the performance of the campaign depending on the days of the week, of the month, of the year or following an yearly trend). For more informations on the model and its future implementations, you can follow its updates on my seo tricks blog :)

    Hope this helps!
    falco85
     
    falco85, Jan 29, 2006 IP
  2. MattEvers

    MattEvers Notable Member

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    #2
    Where is the conversion % in this model?... maybe I am missing something.
     
    MattEvers, Jan 30, 2006 IP
  3. mad4

    mad4 Peon

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    #3
    My technique is to decide a 'comission level' to work towards for example 5% and try to pay google 5% of the total sales from adwords.

    If you always keep this target in mind you just adjust your cpc accordingly. Treat G as an affiliate and it helps ease the pain when you pay a large bill.
     
    mad4, Jan 30, 2006 IP
  4. dfsweb

    dfsweb Active Member

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    #4
    I agree. There should be a variable for conversion rate in the model. The model described here presumes that every visitor to the website will make a purchase, which doesn't happen.
     
    dfsweb, Jan 30, 2006 IP
  5. Crazy_Rob

    Crazy_Rob I seen't it!

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    #5

    5% is my MAX too.

    Some companies I work for it's more like 1.5 - 2.5%.

    falco, your .xls is 404.
     
    Crazy_Rob, Jan 30, 2006 IP
  6. falco85

    falco85 Peon

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    #6
    Crazy_Rob, now it's working :) any comment will be appreciated!
     
    falco85, Feb 3, 2006 IP
  7. Crazy_Rob

    Crazy_Rob I seen't it!

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    #7
    Still getting an error.
     
    Crazy_Rob, Feb 3, 2006 IP
    falco85 likes this.
  8. iShopHQ

    iShopHQ Peon

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  9. falco85

    falco85 Peon

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    #9
    falco85, Feb 3, 2006 IP