1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Make my PC into a server

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by giorgioarmani, Feb 8, 2007.

  1. #1
    Many years ago a friend myself made a PHPNUKE website....
    SEMrush
    Back then he installed something on his PC that allowed us to access the site by going to 127.0.0.0 so he had it on his home PC without need of internet or hosting.

    It was something with Apache if I remember correct. Anyone know where I can get this?
     
    giorgioarmani, Feb 8, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Simas

    Simas Peon

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Hi,

    fast & simple - EasyPHP http://www.easyphp.org/telechargements.php3

    All in one...
     
    Simas, Feb 8, 2007 IP
  3. niloy

    niloy Banned

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    I know a good software called Xampp. You can use that, its really a good bundled software. Please go to google and search with xampp and take the first choice.
     
    niloy, Feb 8, 2007 IP
  4. evera

    evera Peon

    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    If you want to make a webserver on your PC you should use Linux. Its the best way to set up a webserver. www.debian.org :9
    If you are not familiar with linux or too lazy to find out how it works you can also use programs made for Windows. Like http://www.easyphp.org/

    Basicly you need apache, mysql (or another database) und php to make a local site running.
     
    evera, Feb 8, 2007 IP
    Maneel likes this.
  5. ForumJoiner

    ForumJoiner Active Member

    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    32
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    #5
    You can find here a step-by-step tutorial about what you want.
    In my opinion, it is best to have control at every step than to do not know what to do if a bundle does not want to install for some not-obvious reason.
     
    ForumJoiner, Feb 8, 2007 IP
  6. giorgioarmani

    giorgioarmani Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,627
    Likes Received:
    40
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #6
    Thanks for your help guys. I ended up installing WAMP.

    I can make directories and access them using http://localhost and 127.0.0.1 but not with my IP address in browser?

    Any ideas?
     
    giorgioarmani, Feb 10, 2007 IP
  7. ForumJoiner

    ForumJoiner Active Member

    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    32
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    #7
    What do you mean? Do you want to type your IP address in browser and to see the localhost page?
     
    ForumJoiner, Feb 10, 2007 IP
  8. giorgioarmani

    giorgioarmani Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,627
    Likes Received:
    40
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #8
    Yup I'd love to do that... Like that I can host a page on my PC and have friends access it using my IP in their browser... That's possible, right?
     
    giorgioarmani, Feb 10, 2007 IP
  9. evera

    evera Peon

    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    You need a dynamic dns for that.
    There are many site offering services for that for example http://www.dyndns.org

    Otherwise it won't work.
     
    evera, Feb 10, 2007 IP
  10. giorgioarmani

    giorgioarmani Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,627
    Likes Received:
    40
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #10
    But I have a static IP why should I need that? I thought a static IP would allow that
     
    giorgioarmani, Feb 11, 2007 IP
  11. Neptune

    Neptune Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    25
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #11
    Yes, that is possible, however, yous ISP will limit your bandwidth. If they see too much going to that pc they will block you and make you get a business line.
     
    Neptune, Feb 11, 2007 IP
  12. ForumJoiner

    ForumJoiner Active Member

    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    32
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    #12
    Running at home a web server publicly accessible has some advantages and some disadvantages.


    Advantages:
    - you have full control over what you install
    - you don’t have to pay for a web hosting account

    Disadvantages:
    - you have to keep your computer online all the time (in case you don’t know exactly when your friends are going to see your site)
    - you have to take greater care of security


    What is the real purpose of your website? Why not working on your computer to test it and then deploy on a public web host? If you do not want to pay, there are many free web hosts that support Apache/MySQL/PHP.


    By the way, do you type http://64.233.187.99 or http://google.com? While both go to the same place, the last one is much easier to remember.
     
    ForumJoiner, Feb 11, 2007 IP
  13. giorgioarmani

    giorgioarmani Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,627
    Likes Received:
    40
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #13
    Like I said above:

    "Like that I can host a page on my PC and have friends access it using my IP in their browser... "

    This is purely a test page, will have it for a week or two on my pc before going to upload to a host. So how come when I type http://myIP it doesnt take me to the page but 127.0.0.1 will?
     
    giorgioarmani, Feb 11, 2007 IP
  14. bobby9101

    bobby9101 Peon

    Messages:
    3,293
    Likes Received:
    134
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    google: XAMPP
    however i highly recommend not doing it, security is going to be a huge problem.
     
    bobby9101, Feb 11, 2007 IP
  15. opensourcehost

    opensourcehost Peon

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    You can set on up using http://www.easyphp.org/telechargements.php3 as has been said but if you do use Linux and I prefer CentOS and also you must have a decent internet connection and the site will only be online if your pc is on so you can do that but to be honest from past experience it is so much easier just to buy shared hosting. You also have to pay for a control panel if you want one installed and you need a decent PC.
     
    opensourcehost, Feb 12, 2007 IP