1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Looking For Web Host!

Discussion in 'Web Hosting' started by Blaxus, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. #1
    I'm looking for a Web Hoster with specific requirements.
    I highlighted the most important requirement in Red. Normally I don't mind if the PHP version is higher then PHP 5.2, but in this case it turns out that PHP 5.3 does not support Zend Optimizer and is not backwards compatible.

    Since the new Zend Guard Loader upgrade is around 600$ a year I don't blame the developers not supporting it. But This puts me in a shitty position, where I am forced to look for an alternave web host for the Website I am about to setup. Since my current host only uses PHP 5.3

    All of the above requirements have to be met. So does anyone know of a Web Host that supports these requirements?

    I'm not looking for uptime hosting. Just a regular hosting that supports all requirents and I already host my domains somewhere so Parked / Addon Domains preferred.
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2013
    Blaxus, Feb 7, 2013 IP
  2. ruzler

    ruzler Member

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    #2
    My recommendation is to use Kvchosting.com. They suit your needs, prices are cheap when service is high!
    ruzler, Feb 8, 2013 IP
  3. ironcladservers

    ironcladservers Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    16
    Best Answers:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    115
    #3
    Your issue will come back to haunt you not long in the future as providers upgrade their servers, PCI compliance requires maintaining an updated PHP version as well. Personally I would suggest getting a VPS so you could customize it as you needed and it would stay that way.
    ironcladservers, Feb 8, 2013 IP
  4. superrichguy

    superrichguy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,955
    Likes Received:
    46
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    145
    #4
    I'm with Ironclad...But then again, maybe they will update it so it does work on higher levels?
    superrichguy, Feb 8, 2013 IP
  5. Blaxus

    Blaxus Active Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #5
    According to the owner of the Software i'm trying to purchase, they do say that their script also has a Zend Guard Version, which would essentially solve the problem. But they won't confirm it anywhere on their website, which makes me a little wary.

    I used to own a VPS but it was pretty expensive at 26,80$ a month. And many times I never needed this kind of power, but when it comes down to the fact that I need specific requirements I might need to go a route where I can choose my own features like PagodaBox...

    Come to think of it, I'm running over there right now because they allow you to start for free right? Might throw a PHPInfo file on there and see if the BoxFile allows me to change the features.
    Blaxus, Feb 8, 2013 IP
  6. Andy Lippis

    Andy Lippis Greenhorn

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    23
    #6
    I suggest find a good host that offers VPS and have them Build it to your requirements
    Andy Lippis, Feb 8, 2013 IP
  7. Blaxus

    Blaxus Active Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #7
    Just to clarify. I found that it works on PagodaBox by doing changing the Boxfile settings like so:
    Code (Text):
    1. web1:
    2.   php_version: 5.2.17
    3.   php_extensions:
    4.     - apc
    5.     - pdo_mysql
    6.     - mysql
    7.     - curl
    8.     - gd
    9.     - ZendOptimizer
    10.   zend_extensions:
    11.     - ioncube_loader
    So I might just have found the solution that isn't going to screw me over with upgrades.
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013
    Blaxus, Feb 8, 2013 IP
  8. PersonaNonGrata

    PersonaNonGrata Greenhorn

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    #8
    I'm with adelinahost, and I'm happy:)
    PersonaNonGrata, Feb 9, 2013 IP
  9. HostMantis

    HostMantis The Best Web Hosting Premium Member

    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #9
    I think in the end, obtaining an updated version of the script encoded in the latest version of Zend from the developer would be the best thing do.
    HostMantis, Feb 9, 2013 IP
  10. Blaxus

    Blaxus Active Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #10
    The script is not cheap, but it's a good investement for what it is. I contacted them, and they said no one ever claimed that it wasn't supported. But they have to put it in their requirements then.

    I'm not one of those people you can trick into buying something, and then it won't work. At the end of the day they just are pretty lazy. They say "you can buy the open source license, doesn't have encoded files" but at double the price. Yeah, I'll take my chances.
    Blaxus, Feb 9, 2013 IP
  11. Blaxus

    Blaxus Active Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #11
    I'm going to go with PagodaBox so I found my solution as far as I am concerned... anyway, if this type of "cheap webhosting" nonsense is what's left from now on in this thread, then consider me unwatching it...
    Blaxus, Feb 13, 2013 IP
  12. PersonaNonGrata

    PersonaNonGrata Greenhorn

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    #12
    As a domain registrar godaddy is the best, but as a hosting provider they are bad
    PersonaNonGrata, Feb 14, 2013 IP
  13. lepud

    lepud Active Member

    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #13
    Why not to give hosteasier.com or citynetworkhosting.com a try?
    I know they are reliable and trustworthy. Many webmasters appreciate the work they do for them.
    As for customer support you will absolutely love it, each time you contact them, you'll experience great response time and very helpful information, they will fix any problem.
    lepud, Feb 15, 2013 IP
  14. thexyz

    thexyz Active Member

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    85
    Digital Goods:
    3
    #14
    A good host often depends upon the level of support offered, check reviews and ask plenty of pre-sale questions.
    thexyz, Feb 18, 2013 IP
  15. roadbest

    roadbest Active Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    #15




    I am using web hosting from cpanelsites.com so far so good... very stable, fast, and reliable.
    I have used others before, now satisfied with this web hosting. It is a cloudlinux web hosing with cpanel, also 1-click installation of wordpress, valnilla, and so on. just recommend it.. enjoy a day...
    roadbest, Feb 18, 2013 IP
  16. JoshDylan

    JoshDylan Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    80
    #16
    Good luck finding a legit host that actually offers an outdated PHP version. Most have already pushed out new updates due to significant security advantages.
    JoshDylan, Feb 19, 2013 IP
  17. pureevel

    pureevel Active Member

    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #17
    I think marblehost.com is able to satisfy all your needs.
    Contact them to get to know more info about their quality services.
    pureevel, Feb 19, 2013 IP
  18. Blaxus

    Blaxus Active Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #18
    Like I said, very hard to find. That's why I went with Pagodabox, I can just change the specifications anytime I want. Just change the boxfile & push.
    Blaxus, Feb 19, 2013 IP
  19. ahmedjadoon

    ahmedjadoon Member

    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    #19
    If you really need ordinary hosting then consider this one reckhost.com , they have all mentioned modules installed.They are outside U.S and offer cheap shared website hosting.BTW they are still new to business
    ahmedjadoon, Feb 26, 2013 IP
  20. JoshDylan

    JoshDylan Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    80
    #20
    ^Did you forget to mention you own it? @ahmedjadoon.

    If you want to use outdated versions like that, your going to need a vps or similar.
    JoshDylan, Feb 26, 2013 IP