1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Long monitor cable makes bad screen quality

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by login, Apr 15, 2008.

  1. #1
    I bought a long monotor cable to put my pc in another room to avoid noise. But now my picture quality on the monitor is very bad, How come and what can I do to fix it?
    SEMrush
    Thanks. Green rep to good answers:)
     
    login, Apr 15, 2008 IP
    SEMrush
  2. clark71822

    clark71822 Peon

    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    its possible that the length of the cord may be causing signal degradation. I don't know if they have signal boosters for vga cables, but it might be worth checking into if you really need to have a long cable.
     
    clark71822, Apr 15, 2008 IP
    login likes this.
  3. pioneer1

    pioneer1 Peon

    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    simple solution is o try a different cable and see what happens
     
    pioneer1, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  4. login

    login Notable Member

    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    349
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #4
    I cant buy another long cable just to try.
     
    login, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  5. genkied

    genkied Active Member

    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    39
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #5
    login tnx for starting this thread i actually planning also to buy a long monitor cable... :confused: anyone can help us...
     
    genkied, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  6. w3bmaster

    w3bmaster Notable Member

    Messages:
    17,598
    Likes Received:
    417
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    240
    #6
    I don't see that the lenght will be a problem
     
    w3bmaster, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  7. Spider-Man

    Spider-Man Banned

    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    211
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    There's a simple solution to this.

    Similar to ethernet cables, the longer the VGA cable, the worse the connection will become.

    To overcome the issue with a graphics cable, you'd best use DVI cables, not VGA. An DVI-VGA adapter on either side will lose some of the quality, but if your graphic card and monitor are only VGA compatible, it's your only choice. :)
     
    Spider-Man, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  8. login

    login Notable Member

    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    349
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #8
    the output on tge pc is vga, but the monitor has both vga and digital input. Then what is the best solution?
    Is it possible to buy some kind of an amplifier to amplify the signal? If so what is that called? Brands ? Models?
     
    login, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  9. Spider-Man

    Spider-Man Banned

    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    211
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    This is what you will need. DVI has a much stronger resistance and produces higher monitor resolution quality. :)
     
    Spider-Man, Apr 15, 2008 IP
    login likes this.
  10. login

    login Notable Member

    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    349
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #10
    So the quality will be better just by doing the input in the DVI input even if the cable is still VGA and the output from the pc is still analog?
     
    login, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  11. Spider-Man

    Spider-Man Banned

    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    211
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Yeah, you'll find a noticeable difference, for best effects, use a DIV-D cable, if you can get one long enough :)
     
    Spider-Man, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  12. sheilasultani

    sheilasultani Peon

    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    Marry a computer specialist - (worked for me)
     
    sheilasultani, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  13. oldmentor

    oldmentor Banned

    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    lol... this is a good idea, i'll try this.
    @OP, may be there is a problem in your cable. try to change the cable if possible.
     
    oldmentor, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  14. coderbari

    coderbari Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,168
    Likes Received:
    193
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #14
    I don't think the problem happens because of the length.I think there is something wrong in the cable.Just replace it.
     
    coderbari, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  15. Nac01

    Nac01 Peon

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Even an S-Video cable will do better. I got a 10 meter long cable running to my TV downstairs to watch movies, works perfect. Better quality VGA cable should work aswell, but that's quite expensive. The DVI option should work, else you'll have to find a cheap video card with more output options.
     
    Nac01, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  16. Cheap SEO Services

    Cheap SEO Services <------DoFollow Backlinks

    Messages:
    16,670
    Likes Received:
    1,318
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    What about using wireless video sender/receivers?
     
    Cheap SEO Services, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  17. mybluehair

    mybluehair Peon

    Messages:
    1,374
    Likes Received:
    21
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    did you cheap out on the cable? that might be it.
     
    mybluehair, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  18. Proximity

    Proximity Banned

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    35
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    I didnt know this.. never tried.
     
    Proximity, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  19. SJappie

    SJappie Peon

    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    VGA cable should able to go 10meter easily... Did you buy a very cheap one, are many other "machines" near the cable that could cause interference? Like when you have you mobile phone next to cheap speakers...

    I'm not saying you get lousy quality with cheap cables, but it could be that the protection around the cable is not thick enough... or the cable has a defect...

    I recently was looking into this since I'm going to get a longer cable as well. Several people told me that 5m would be no problem 100% sure, 10m would also be OK but then you'd have to take the surrounding electrical machinery into account. And when you think about it logically, why wouldn't it be OK quality, there are many sources that sell 20 and 25 meter VGA cables, so the shorter ones must work for sure. Otherwise there would be no market at all for longer types.
     
    SJappie, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  20. login

    login Notable Member

    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    349
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #20
    login, Apr 15, 2008 IP