1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Little help with nameservers please

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by risoknop, May 12, 2008.

  1. #1
    Hello,

    I've already properly set up nameservers for my domain (http://seowebtips.com) but the problem I have is as follows:

    When I type http://seowebtips.com into browser and hit enter, it goes to my website, however there is an IP adress shown in browser url input field instead of an actual url of the domain (http://seowebtips.com).

    Anybody knows where could be a problem?
     
    risoknop, May 12, 2008 IP
  2. Afazelpoor

    Afazelpoor Guest

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Did you setup the DNS correctly? what panel software do you use? looks to me you are doing forward to the IP, you need to create an A record for the domain if you haven't already.
     
    Afazelpoor, May 12, 2008 IP
  3. risoknop

    risoknop Peon

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Hi, I'm using Lxadmin. What is A record? I'll post screenshot of my dns settings shortly...
     
    risoknop, May 12, 2008 IP
  4. risoknop

    risoknop Peon

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Screenshot of my dns settings in attachment...
     

    Attached Files:

    • pic.jpg
      pic.jpg
      File size:
      14.7 KB
      Views:
      23
    risoknop, May 12, 2008 IP
  5. Afazelpoor

    Afazelpoor Guest

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    You need to create an A record for the domain, its missing in your screenshot
     
    Afazelpoor, May 12, 2008 IP
  6. risoknop

    risoknop Peon

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Oh I see it now. Bu could you please tell me what to fill in in A record settings? Screenshot in the attachment...
     

    Attached Files:

    risoknop, May 12, 2008 IP
  7. risoknop

    risoknop Peon

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    risoknop, May 12, 2008 IP
  8. Afazelpoor

    Afazelpoor Guest

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Can you edit the A record for _base_ and remove _base_? and put value the IP
     
    Afazelpoor, May 12, 2008 IP
  9. risoknop

    risoknop Peon

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Oh god I'm totally confused now. Could you help me set it up? I'll pay you $10 via paypal if you could fix that ;)

    I'm sure it's just some easy fix... probably just some value needs to be edited somewhere... but this is my first VPS and I'm noob at these things...
     
    risoknop, May 12, 2008 IP
  10. Afazelpoor

    Afazelpoor Guest

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Actually most of this is common sense, I don't mind helping you and you don't need to pay.
     
    Afazelpoor, May 12, 2008 IP
  11. Afazelpoor

    Afazelpoor Guest

    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    I PMed you what I think could be the problem.
     
    Afazelpoor, May 12, 2008 IP
  12. xous

    xous Active Member

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #12
    Hi,

    The problem with your site appears to be due to either your web servers configuration or the .htaccess file that wordpress generated; I would be on the latter.

    You might be able to fix the problem by checking the admin settings in wordpress to make sure it has the domains as the site's address and not the IP address.
     
    xous, May 13, 2008 IP