1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Laptop Hardware Expert Here, Ask for Help!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ctec, Oct 25, 2015.

  1. kimanierick

    kimanierick Member

    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    33
    #21
    it is a laptop.
    SEMrush
     
    kimanierick, Nov 11, 2015 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Ctec

    Ctec Active Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Digital Goods:
    7
    Articles:
    2
    #22
    Ok kimanierick, do you notice it getting pretty hot when using it and does the cooling fan get kinda loud during operation?
     
    Ctec, Nov 11, 2015 IP
  3. kimanierick

    kimanierick Member

    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    33
    #23
    Yes, i forgot to mention the machine gets quite hot but the cooling fan does get loud on some occasions and then stops all of a sudden(the noise).
     
    kimanierick, Nov 11, 2015 IP
  4. Ctec

    Ctec Active Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Digital Goods:
    7
    Articles:
    2
    #24
    Ok that could be the culprit, Overheating can affect the CPU and hence its performance, so you should take your laptop to a technician to clean out dusts and other particles from the cooling fan and heat sink, this will ensure proper airflow to cool the CPU. Also i'l advice you download malwarebytes (free) and perform a full scan, you will be surprised to find lots of threats your antivirus missed..
     
    Ctec, Nov 11, 2015 IP
  5. kimanierick

    kimanierick Member

    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    33
    #25
    Thank you i really appreciate your help. I will be sure to follow your advice step by step.
     
    kimanierick, Nov 11, 2015 IP
  6. Ctec

    Ctec Active Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Digital Goods:
    7
    Articles:
    2
    #26
    You're welcome, update me on how it turns out
     
    Ctec, Nov 11, 2015 IP
  7. Sandraddl

    Sandraddl Peon

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    #27
    I have a Windows 8 hp laptop, the screen is broken and I want to project a second screen on my new laptop, which is a Windows 10 hp laptop. I have an hdmi cable, which is what I heard you needed to project a screen to another screen. Could you help me on how I'm supposed to project a second screen from my old laptop to the new one? Thank you.
     
    Sandraddl, Jul 30, 2016 IP
  8. PoPSiCLe

    PoPSiCLe Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    4,630
    Likes Received:
    723
    Best Answers:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    470
    #28
    You can't. Not on most laptops anyway. Ie, the new laptop doesn't have an input for taking the signal and displaying it on the screen. To do that you will have to have some sort of external hardware, an external graphics card with an input (either DVI or HDMI) or get a USB-version which takes the HDMI signal and allows it to output. Cheaper method would be setting up a remote desktop software on the Windows 8 laptop and just connect to it from the Windows 10 laptop. As long as you're on the same local network, you should be able to transfer picture/desktop, video/sound whatever you need.
     
    PoPSiCLe, Jul 30, 2016 IP
  9. Sandraddl

    Sandraddl Peon

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    #29
    Thank you. How do you set up a remote desktop software?
     
    Sandraddl, Jul 30, 2016 IP
  10. PoPSiCLe

    PoPSiCLe Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    4,630
    Likes Received:
    723
    Best Answers:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    470
    #30
    Uhm... Google it? You can use the built-in RDP in Windows (if your windows version supports it), or you can use something like RealVNC, Logmein, or TeamViewer - both of the latter are very simple to set up, and they know if the computers are on the same network, and uses that for internal LAN connections.
     
    PoPSiCLe, Jul 30, 2016 IP