1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Keyword research for new blog niche

Discussion in 'General Business' started by Smog81, May 10, 2020.

Hi all,

I’m In the process of building a new blog and the all important phase of defining my ‘niche’. My long term goals for my blog are to generate affiliate income and sell digital products such as courses and e-books. I have a lot of industry experience in one particular field ‘concept art’ in particular ‘environments’ having worked for leading film companies and theme park designers over the span of 20 years. I feel it’s now time to share my knowledge of this industry which is also a passion of mine.

I’ve been doing a deep dive into SEO and also keyword research to ensure my niche has both market or active viewers and also can be monetised, but a few things have confused me which I was hoping some of you could help with?

firstly - google searching ‘concept art’ shows well over a billion topics, so immediately I’m inclined to think this has some potential...

however, delving deeper into the specifics using SEO Rush I’m getting monthly search results for big keywords that are tiny in comparison. For example, the term ‘concept art tutorials ’ is only searched 110 times per month and has a difficulty rating of 88, according to them!‘Concept art’ has 22,000 searches per month but is too broad and the more I refine it down the more I’m met with tiny search results . If I then use a different keyword research tool such as ‘Twinword ideas’ the search results shown are significantly higher? Why would there be a contradiction in these figures?