1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

jQuery issue.. possible conlict :( | Please Help

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by zinghana, Sep 24, 2011.

  1. #1
    Hi all,

    My Site: http://freetemplatez.net/ (very much a work in progress)

    I am using a somewhat advanced jQuery Slider on my website, I am using wordpress as my base platform and each time i try and activate a plugin (plugins that i am going to need) the slider seems to stop working.. i have to disable plugins to make it function again.. it seems to happen with just about every plugin i install so the problem needs to be fixed from the sliders side of things i am thinking.

    I am using the following no conflict trick:

    <script>
    jQuery.noConflict();
    </script>
    Code (markup):
    Now for some reason this does not seem to help my problem at all... If there is anyone who could help / suggest some advice that would be great, happy to help you back if i can in any way.
    SEMrush
    Regards, Darren
     
    zinghana, Sep 24, 2011 IP
    SEMrush
  2. workingsmart

    workingsmart Active Member

    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #2
    Darren,

    First and foremost, you have to fix this....

    
    </head>
    <div id="social-top"><a href="http://twitter.com/share" class="twitter-share-button" data-count="horizontal">Tweet</a><script type="text/javascript" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js"></script>
    
    <div class="g-plusone" data-size="medium" data-annotation="none"></div><div class="fb-like" data-href="http://freetemplatez.net/" data-send="true" data-layout="button_count" data-width="110" data-show-faces="false"></div>
    </div>
    
    <body class="home blog header-classic-css switch-css nav-classic widebar-float-left no-squeeze has-sidebars">
    
    Code (markup):
    You'll notice the 2 <div>'s between <head> and <body>.... This is a NO-NO... Have to be within / after <body> not prior...

    ========================

    As for your slider conflict...

    This should be between your <head></head> tags...

    
    		<script>
    jQuery.noConflict();
    </script>
    	<script type="text/javascript">
        	jQuery(document).ready(
    			function() {
    				jQuery(".container").wtListRotator({
    					screen_width:430,
    					screen_height:300,
    					item_width:200,
    					item_height:75,
    					item_display:4,
    					list_align:"right",
    					scroll_type:"none",
    					auto_start:true,
    					delay:5000,
    					transition:"random",
    					transition_speed:800,
    					easing:"",
    					auto_center:true,
    					display_playbutton:false,
    					display_number:false,
    					display_timer:false,
    					display_arrow:false,
    					display_thumbs:true,
    					display_scrollbar:false,
    					pause_mouseover:false,
    					cpanel_mouseover:false,					
    					text_mouseover:false,
    					text_effect:"fade",
    					text_sync:true,
    					cpanel_align:"TR",
    					timer_align:"bottom",
    					move_one:false,
    					auto_adjust:true,
    					shuffle:false,
    					play_once:false,
    					block_size:75,
    					vert_size:50,
    					horz_size:50,
    					block_delay:35,
    					vstripe_delay:90,
    					hstripe_delay:180					
    				});
    			}
    		);
        </script>
    
    Code (markup):
     
    workingsmart, Sep 24, 2011 IP
  3. workingsmart

    workingsmart Active Member

    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #3
    You shouldn't have anything conflicting either... You do have some variables in your slider with " " and some without, not sure why that is...
     
    workingsmart, Sep 24, 2011 IP
    zinghana likes this.
  4. zinghana

    zinghana Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #4
    workingsmart

    Thanks mate !! appreciate you taking the time to look at this for me :)

    Was a little tied last night and was getting a little sloppy.. the social divs / placement has been fixed aswell as the slider script loading from within the head tags... Cheers for picking that up.

    I am still unable to activate plugins without the slider not displaying correctly.. seems very strange to me, there are so many plugins i am going to need for this project and i really do like the slider (paid for) so i don't want to ditch it just yet.. I am at a loss to figure out why this is conflicting.

    Thanks again for your help, still need some help tho.

    Regards, Darren
     
    zinghana, Sep 24, 2011 IP
  5. workingsmart

    workingsmart Active Member

    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #5
    yeah I know...

    The other plugins you are trying to activate, are any of those JQuery or another Ajax library based?...
     
    workingsmart, Sep 24, 2011 IP
  6. zinghana

    zinghana Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #6
    not sure what the plugins are using but 10+ plugins are causing the same thing.. contact form 7 etc very basic contact forms, even a simple plugin to modify the login page css.. it's 100% the slider causing this.. while the slider is showing on the site now all plugins are deactivated.

    Thanks again mate
     
    zinghana, Sep 25, 2011 IP
  7. workingsmart

    workingsmart Active Member

    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #7
    What particular slider plugin is it?...
     
    workingsmart, Sep 25, 2011 IP
  8. zinghana

    zinghana Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #8
    zinghana, Sep 26, 2011 IP
    workingsmart likes this.
  9. workingsmart

    workingsmart Active Member

    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #9
    This can be corrected... I'll look into it further for you tomorrow...

    Cheers for the +1 and +1 right back at you!
     
    workingsmart, Sep 26, 2011 IP
  10. zinghana

    zinghana Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #10
    Appreciate that mate.. Was going to just swap it over to nivo slider or something similar today.. Don't stress to much about it might be quicker to just swap it to something else.

    Darren

    EDIT:

    Ok i just tried the Nivo slider (one ive worked with plenty of times)... soon as i activate a pluging it stops working also... so well at least now i know it's not the slider causing the issue.. starting to think it may be the theme i am using.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2011
    zinghana, Sep 26, 2011 IP
  11. zinghana

    zinghana Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #11
    Fixed !!!!

    My WP Theme was lacking the:

    <?php wp_head(); ?>
    Code (markup):
    Tag.... this is according to the twentyeleven wp theme:

    So i placed that code before the closing </head> tag in my header.php and no more plugin conflicts :) 3-4 days of scratching my head wondering what's going on... ohhwell hopefully someone learns from this.

    Cheers
     
    zinghana, Sep 28, 2011 IP