1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Joomla + HTML files help!

Discussion in 'Joomla' started by jokerxfx, Aug 14, 2012.

Hey all, First time posting on here

I've got a problem as i am not experienced in the CMS area at all, I've created a good few websites using only HTML and CSS and i have messed around with a few backend languages but I don't know PHP well enough to hand code myself for example.

But anyway, I've to edit a current site, so i asked for the site files, which they gave me this directory ( Image attachment 1.png )

So after being confused as there were no HTML files at all, I searched through the live host source code to find that it had been coded by a CMS program called Joomla. I then asked them for the Username and password to the Joomla account as I foolishly presumed that it would have been a Dreamweaver type program with a built in FTP client, but with closer inspection, you need to install it on the host server and not your own hard drive. - so I thought this must mean that its already installed on their live host server.

My question is, does anyone know if Joomla will actually have HTML files in the live host directory if I get the un and pw? or will it be the same directory that they sent me when I requested it?
    - And would I just need to use an FTP program such as filezilla to access joomla?

Any replies would be appreciated, sorry for the long read, Thanks!

jokerxfx, Aug 14, 2012 IP
  2. Rankx

Rankx Active Member

Best Answers: