1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Javascript auto refresh code

Discussion in 'JavaScript' started by shivampaw, Nov 17, 2013.

  1. #1
    I am not sure how to make this code auto refresh every 8 seconds, please can you point me in the right direction or show me a code.
    SEMrush
    CODE:
    
    <?php
      $query = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM users WHERE username='$user' AND admin='1'");
      $numrows = mysql_num_rows($query);
      ?>
      <li><a href='chat.php'><span>Chat <?php if($numrows == "1"){echo "<b><font color='red'>(!)</b></font>";} ?></span></a></li>
    
    Code (markup):
    Thanks
     
    shivampaw, Nov 17, 2013 IP
    SEMrush
  2. MrLeN

    MrLeN Active Member

    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #2
    Why don't you just use a meta refresh?

    
    <meta http-equiv="refresh" content="8;URL='chat.php'" />
    
    Code (markup):
     
    MrLeN, Nov 17, 2013 IP
  3. shemseddine

    shemseddine Active Member

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    55
    #3
    I guess you don't have much experience, try w3schools for javascript. I think you should look into ajax also.

    I would give you the code but since, I'm new it's not letting me paste the code.

    EDIT - Actually didn't think of that. The person above me just made it a lot easier.
     
    shemseddine, Nov 17, 2013 IP
  4. shivampaw

    shivampaw Greenhorn

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    #4
    I only want to lead only the code in the starting post, they code is in a div called menu.

    I know that this requires Ajax but not sure how to to do it
     
    shivampaw, Nov 17, 2013 IP
  5. rehan.khalid.9235

    rehan.khalid.9235 Active Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    85
    #5
    So you want to refresh a particular 'div' after every 8 seconds. you can try this algorithm

    this is Javascript Code
     function refreshdiv (){
       
        $.ajax({
          url: '',
          type: 'json',
          success: function (r) {
            $('#div_id').html(r.contents);
          }
        });
    
    }
    
    setInterval(refreshdiv() ,8000);
    HTML:
    in place of url, you need to put path of file/function (php) where you perform action and return the values.
     
    rehan.khalid.9235, Nov 17, 2013 IP
  6. shivampaw

    shivampaw Greenhorn

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    #6
    SOLVED:

    var auto_refresh = setInterval(
    function ()
    {
    $('#cssmenu').load('lol.php');
    }, 5000); // refresh every 5 seconds
    Code (markup):
    And then
    <body onload="auto_refresh()";>
    Code (markup):
    This fixed my problem :)

    Quote this for best answer!
     
    shivampaw, Nov 17, 2013 IP
  7. leeku

    leeku Active Member

    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #7
    well done !!
     
    leeku, Jan 8, 2015 IP