1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

It's a trap! Don't be caught by this when paying for hosting. Has it happened to you?

Discussion in 'Web Hosting' started by DKMTT, Feb 10, 2015.

Hey all,

I thought it would be a good to share this with the newbie in mind because it can cause a shock.
    I registered my domain and through a recommendation used Bluehost. Their shared hosting payment plan for 3 years is exceptional, working out at $4 a month and comes with a friendly and very competent customer service.

However, when I proceeded to pay and was redirected to the confirmation page I realised I had been charged for the 36 months upfront. The way it was promoted was $4/month for 36 months, so being a newb I thought it was automatically a payment plan. Has this ever happened to you?

Bright side is it upped my commitment to be successful online, I can register unlimited domain and as previously stated, their customer support rocks.

Hope this helps :)

DKMTT, Feb 10, 2015 IP
  2. gigapros

gigapros Active Member

Best Answers:
    That's how EVERY hosting company works out there. By paying upfront, they are assured that you will remain with them for 3 yrs. And in return, they give you the benefit for low cost. That's how a win-win situation works.

gigapros, Feb 10, 2015 IP
    Rado_ch and Teedager like this.
  3. uand.eye

uand.eye Active Member

Best Answers:
    This isn't a trap, they tell you how much it will cost before taking any money. You have to confirm and authorise any payment.

I suspect that this could be someone promoting Bluehost... How do you know that their service is so good if you have just signed up?

uand.eye, Feb 11, 2015 IP
    Rado_ch likes this.
  4. PoPSiCLe