1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Is web scraping Legal?

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by idmindia, Aug 16, 2011.

Is web scraping, web crawling or data extraction from websites, online store and travel portal is Legal in Internet ?

Thanks

idmindia, Aug 16, 2011 IP
  2. Chuckun

Chuckun Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    I am not a lawyer but I have a general understanding I think..

If the content is free for public use and not copyrighted then by all means scrape it.. but anything you scrape which is the sole property of an individual or company then you could face prosecution.

Common sense really.

Chuckun, Aug 16, 2011 IP
  3. contentboss

contentboss Peon

Best Answers:
    IT's the use, not the scraping, which is the problem. Doesn't seem to bother Google, though. Biggest scraper in the world.

contentboss, Aug 17, 2011 IP
  4. attorney jaffe

attorney jaffe Member

Best Answers:
    A copyright is the exclusive property right granted to the author or creator of original works including literary, dramatic, musical, artistic, and certain other intellectual works.

Despite what some people think -- if it is posted on the Internet it already belongs to somebody.

The way in which copyright protection is secured is frequently misunderstood. No publication or registration or other action in the Copyright Office is required to secure copyright. Copyright is Secured Automatically upon Creation!

Therefore, scraping and re-posting something on the Internet violates the copyrights of the original creator.

attorney jaffe, Aug 17, 2011 IP
  5. browntwn

browntwn Illustrious Member

Best Answers:
    All of that being said, I think scraping is perfectly legal.