1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Is there an auto way to submit sitemap to google?

Discussion in 'Google Sitemaps' started by crystalgrid, Dec 5, 2007.

  1. #1
    i.e by calling a URL, or something? :D
    SEMrush
    That would be nice, but I guess I can get by without it.
     
    crystalgrid, Dec 5, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. ven123

    ven123 Banned

    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    You can do without it.
     
    ven123, Dec 8, 2007 IP
  3. Ladadadada

    Ladadadada Peon

    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    How many sites do you have ? :eek:

    You only need to submit a sitemap once for each site because all you are doing is submitting it's URL. Google will come by and crawl the sitemap whenever they think it might have changed.

    You can specify your sitemap URL in your robots.txt and good crawlers will find that and follow it.

    Apparently, there is a ping service offered by some search engines...
     
    Ladadadada, Dec 8, 2007 IP
  4. zaqwsx3

    zaqwsx3 Peon

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    From what I've read, the best way is to add your sitemap to your robots.txt file. i.e.,

    bash-2.05b$ cat robots.txt
    SITEMAP: yourwebsite/sitemap.xml

    This way, the next time your site is spidered, the index will be used.

    Although the large search engines prefer you to use their web based interface, as they say they will give you feedback on any errors you might have in the map.
     
    zaqwsx3, Dec 9, 2007 IP
  5. Barry Scott

    Barry Scott Active Member

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #5
    I use this site map script and everytime i update my site i create a new sitemap, which pings Google and gets the google bots back.

    http://enarion.net/google/
     
    Barry Scott, Dec 9, 2007 IP
  6. mobernard

    mobernard Active Member

    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    #6
    You can also use sitemap_gen-1.4 from Google with ping feature.
     
    mobernard, Dec 17, 2007 IP
  7. smartfinds

    smartfinds Active Member

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #7
    Hello,

    Once you have a sitemap.xml file created you can submit it to Google through the Webmaster Tools (need to log into your account). If you do not see the Webmaster Tools in your account area, then go to About Google, then Webmaster Central to find the link.

    With regard to creating your sitemap, the best way to do that is that we use a sitemap generator that creates the sitemap in 4 versions (XML, ROR, HTML and TXT), you can setup a cron job to run it once a week or whatever frequency you wish. Once it runs it pings yahoo (requires Yahoo API code) and Google. Its been working like a charm for us.

    Hope this helps.
     
    smartfinds, Dec 17, 2007 IP
  8. Lever

    Lever Deep Thought

    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    94
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    145
    #8
    Hmm... sitemap_gen-1.4 is a python script; i'm not sure how I'd use that...
     
    Lever, Dec 22, 2007 IP
  9. cyber-world

    cyber-world Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    118
    #9
    cyber-world, Dec 22, 2007 IP
  10. hassan001

    hassan001 Active Member

    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
  11. mike burngasser

    mike burngasser Greenhorn

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    #11
    Use Wordpress and get a Sitemap generator Plugin.

    That will solve all your sitemap problems automatically. I install a sitemap plugin with every new WP site I make, and have never actively thought about my sitemaps.

    If you manually submit sitemaps, you are waaaaaay behind the curve...
     
    mike burngasser, Feb 22, 2011 IP
  12. Poonam.sharma

    Poonam.sharma Peon

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    You can make your site map automatically sub not submit it automatically.
     
    Poonam.sharma, Feb 23, 2011 IP