1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Is Photoshop a necessity for a designer?

Discussion in 'Photoshop' started by SpiderPigs, Oct 12, 2014.

I'm currently a student in South Africa at the University of Pretoria studying Multimedia. I've been wondering a lot about whether or not knowing Photoshop is a 'must' if you want a chance in getting work one day as a graphic designer or other similar jobs? What makes it so great over all the other image editing software out there?

Solved! View solution.
    SpiderPigs, Oct 12, 2014 IP
  2. John47

John47 Peon

Best Answers:
    Photoshop is a major part of the design process, it offers something unique that has made it an essential part of the web designer’s toolkit. Photoshop is continuing to add features and workflows to support web designers.
    I've been using Photoshop since I started working as a designer and wouldn't recommend anything else.

John47, Oct 12, 2014 IP
  3. Design 101

Design 101 Greenhorn

Best Answers:
    I wouldn't say that it is a must if you want to make it as a graphic designer. I know a lot of people who doesn't use Photoshop in the industry and they are still very good designers.

I personally like using Photoshop but know other software as well that is also great to use.

Design 101, Oct 12, 2014 IP
  4. PascM

PascM Greenhorn

Best Answers:
    I thought (but I might be wrong) that most designers like Corel Draw for their purposes.

PascM, Oct 12, 2014 IP
  5. SpiderPigs

SpiderPigs Peon

Best Answers:
    Thanks for the replies!

Also, do you think that Photoshop users have a great advantage over others who don't use it?

6. SpiderPigs

SpiderPigs Peon

Best Answers: