We run a stable and respected online business and is regarded as the best program in it's industry. We have considered using AdWords for a long time but have been very iffy on wether it'd convert well, especially considering we sell the program for $495. Would AdWords be a viable advertising tool for expensive products or should we stick to forum promotions, banner ads etc.? Thanks!
Hey. I have never used adwords, so wait for someone who has to come along, but - you could put in the ad that your product is the best, and that it costs $495. Then you would only pay for the click where you know the price is not putting them off too much. It all rests then, on the product and your sales copy. Just my thought DD
The argument put against advertising big ticket items on adwords is that, the larger the purchase the more comparison shopping there is. Hence lower conversions. But it depends on the product - profit, amount of competition etc. After all it doesn't stop advertising for financial products. I'd go ahead and try it.
I'd say go ahead and try it too, but not necessarily to specifically sell the product directly from the click. Go about setting up a landing page and adwords ad that gives the consumer something to take away that allows them to do the comparison shopping themselves but puts you in a good light (e.g. industry report, white paper, demo - depending on the product, and all free remember!) Make sure they register their email and name to receive the freebie. Then use your backend process to sell the product later on ... ... erm, I haven't just given away the whole Internet Marketing business plan, have I? Regards Howard
So with a $405 product, what's you goal when it comes to a cost of a sale? How much are you spending now to make a sale? What methods are you using now? If you are making money using traditional marketing methods, if you have a good handle on you return on advertising spend, if you understand your market and your competitors, they I'm positive you can make money using AdWords. AdWords is nothing more than another marketing channel that you could and should be using to complement your whole effort- If you are currently spending $200 to make a sale now, and your cost per click (shooting in the dark) is 50 cents, then that give you 400 clicks to make 1 sale. All you would need is a .25% conversion rate.
Thanks for all the replies guys. We rely completely on word of mouth and will make 2-3 sales/day. Obviously we believe there is much greater potential in the product and would like to explore this through targetted advertising. I think I'll go ahead and try it.
Do good keyword research and write good ads! Build a targeted landing page specifically for search. Good luck!
It may work better for expensive products. You can buy a prospect for a few pennies, you just need to target, experiment and adjust until you know that you can or cannot make Adwords work for you. Target on precise keyword phrases like "datbase replication software" instead of "software" and you should get inexpensive targeted leads.
The best way to find out with adwords is to try it out over a period of a couple of months. It takes some effort, but the rewards are usually great. Don't pass up an opportunity to potentially generate a lot more sales. Many people (including myself) are using adwords successfully. Good luck!
Seems to me that with a higher-priced item you would be at an advantage with Adwords. Even if you convert only marginal amt, say 1%, you would be able to spend more per click b/c the pay off is more.
while creating an ad, Dont forget to mention the price too., SO that only interested people will click., But even then Some would click to know what is in the product to sell it for 450$. Do a keyword research and find out the target audience first. Try targetting the area from where you get the most sales usually.,
adwords is a great marketing tool for all types of products. 1) make sure you right focused ad copy. Quality traffic = quality sales 2) look for 3+ word phrases for your keywords to bid on that are specific to your niche. 3) if you are getting traffic and have good ads, look at your sales page - does it convert well. 4) You said you rely heavily on word of mouth - get those testimonails online. See if you can get either video or audio testimonials from the customers - great for user authenticity 5) as others have said, maybe there is a smaller product you could sell (ebook of some sort) that you use as a sorting tool, and market back to them at a later date the full product.
basically, i tend to agree with the last posted about yahoo bing more effective. the problem is 80% of my affiliates are google adwords users, so I'm super concentrated there. damn you guys are good. def some good suggestions here. is anyone hard pressed on promoting anew niche product? i need more yahoo exposure.
Once again thanks for all the suggestions. I decided to try it out but the results have been dissapointing so far. I've only gotten 22 impressions and 1 click from the keywords I listed. I only wanted to include very specific keywords so that I'm getting quality traffic that is in "buy mode". The niche is photography for those wondering.