1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Is it allowed to have adsense inside a forum thread/post?

Discussion in 'Guidelines / Compliance' started by crazyhorse, May 2, 2005.

  1. #1
    Guess the title says it all, is it allowed to have adsense in a topic/post on a forum?
    SEMrush
     
    crazyhorse, May 2, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Nintendo

    Nintendo ♬ King of da Wackos ♬

    Messages:
    12,890
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    430
    #2
    Of course! Then again you can read the TOS rules to see for your self that no where does it say you can't have ads inside a thread or post!! Many boards do that to increase CTR, but at the same time make many first time visitors leave and never show up again.
     
    Nintendo, May 2, 2005 IP
  3. nevetS

    nevetS Evolving Dragon

    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    211
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #3
    It's a good way of increasing the visibility of the ads, but unless you already have an established and popular forum, it will drive away visitors.
     
    nevetS, May 2, 2005 IP
  4. Colleen

    Colleen Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,778
    Likes Received:
    725
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    430
    #4
    I've noticed forums that only show the ads in threads to guests, once you log in they're gone.

    Perhaps that's the way to go? If visitors don't want to see them, then register and log in. JM2C.
     
    Colleen, May 2, 2005 IP
  5. cray

    cray Peon

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Anyone got an example of a forum using therm inside the post itself?
     
    cray, May 3, 2005 IP
  6. T0PS3O

    T0PS3O Feel Good PLC

    Messages:
    13,220
    Likes Received:
    778
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. noppid

    noppid gunnin' for the quota

    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    232
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #7
    Inside the post dates the ad and that is not allowed. The date will always make the ad look old.
     
    noppid, May 3, 2005 IP
  8. crazyhorse

    crazyhorse Peon

    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    19
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    I can modify the post and get ride of the date. ;)
    So overall people tend to agree that it is allowed.

    http://www.mediaplace.nl/forum/about134441.html
    Thats an example of how i would like it to look like.
     
    crazyhorse, May 3, 2005 IP
  9. T0PS3O

    T0PS3O Feel Good PLC

    Messages:
    13,220
    Likes Received:
    778
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Yeah there's no problem with that at all. It's actually the most common way of displayig AS on forums that I've seen.
     
    T0PS3O, May 3, 2005 IP
  10. crazyhorse

    crazyhorse Peon

    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    19
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Thanks I will do that for all of my Google ads. Just need to figure out what will give me the best CTR. Images or text?
     
    crazyhorse, May 3, 2005 IP
  11. T0PS3O

    T0PS3O Feel Good PLC

    Messages:
    13,220
    Likes Received:
    778
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Google says they'll only show images if they beat text CTR. So having both enabled should in theory be best.
     
    T0PS3O, May 3, 2005 IP
  12. noppid

    noppid gunnin' for the quota

    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    232
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #12
    I did not agree, google has specifically addressed this issue and said if it is in a post, it's not alllowed.

    I Think TOPPS had the right suggestion. Between posts.
     
    noppid, May 3, 2005 IP
  13. crazyhorse

    crazyhorse Peon

    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    19
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    Cool great idea. Lets see if we can push this baby above the 5% CTR. Am i allowed to post this info. ;) Not sure.
     
    crazyhorse, May 3, 2005 IP
  14. Tuning

    Tuning Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    51
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    138
    #14
    I have setup a forum such that ads are shown between every 4 posts. Starting from second, i have ads at 2,7,12 positions. And I'm gettng fair amount of clicks. Click per visitor is high. Perhaps that will help you too.

    The mod was on phpbb and was called "banner after post" mod.

    btw,Google have confirmed that Tos not violated by showing ads between posts.

    Regards,
    Tuning
     
    Tuning, May 3, 2005 IP
  15. crazyhorse

    crazyhorse Peon

    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    19
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Same here but that doesnt work at all. I let that run for a while but the small banner after the first post or the second or the last doesnt get clicked at all. Most people click the large skycraper on the left. I ll just send google this week a email to ask them if it is allowed and will just wait for them to respond. In the meantime , im back to improving CTR< CTR and CTR. ;)
     
    crazyhorse, May 3, 2005 IP
  16. king_cobra

    king_cobra Peon

    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    Will not the TOS be violated if more than 3 ads are shown per page? I have set up so that one ad is posted right when a new topic is posted (for IPB). That works fine.
     
    king_cobra, May 3, 2005 IP
  17. Tuning

    Tuning Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    51
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    138
    #17
    more than 3 ads wont show because of google's technology. If you place 4 ad codes, then 4th one will never show an ad. Its automatically nulled. :)

     
    Tuning, May 3, 2005 IP
  18. king_cobra

    king_cobra Peon

    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    No. Thats not true tuning. I tested that out and they show 4 ads.
     
    king_cobra, May 3, 2005 IP
  19. nevetS

    nevetS Evolving Dragon

    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    211
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #19
    4 ads is the limit. I believe that you can only have 3 of a single type, but 4 in total. I have my site set up for 3 adsense banners and 1 adlink block without a problem.

    I stand corrected. I just updated my site to only show 3 ad units per page. You can have up to 3 ad units plus 2 adsense for search boxes on a given page.
     
    nevetS, May 4, 2005 IP
  20. Tuning

    Tuning Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    51
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    138
    #20
    Thanks for the update neverts.

    @king_kobra

    I have setup 10 posts per page and hence I will never have 4 ads on a page. Sorry for speculating.
     
    Tuning, May 4, 2005 IP