1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Is Analytics showing incorrect stats for your site??

Discussion in 'Google Analytics' started by DropWizard.com, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. #1
    I was at a meeting of domainers the other night and several of us were discussing how poorly analytics seemed to be recording traffic compared to other stat programs.

    In particular I was looking at a site with 100-200 uniques a day and analytics recording around 5 page views and 1-2 uniques.
    SEMrush
    Several webmasters agreed about this so I'm wondering what other's are seeing?:confused:
     
    DropWizard.com, Oct 7, 2010 IP
    SEMrush
  2. atxsurf

    atxsurf Peon

    Messages:
    2,394
    Likes Received:
    21
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    make sure to put analytics code in the head tags of the page. If put inside the body, some other javascript on the page may prevent analytics to load!
     
    atxsurf, Oct 9, 2010 IP
  3. Sabrina178

    Sabrina178 Peon

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    I suggest you use Analytics and another third party tool, my trackers dont always reflect the same amount of traffic :D
     
    Sabrina178, Oct 12, 2010 IP
  4. MoreInStore

    MoreInStore Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    93
    #4
    I always get different stats from Analytics and StatCounter. I know they're both free tools, but there are terrible inconsistencies. Nice (not really!) to know others get different results too.

    I just posted a thread asking if Analytics changes historical data (http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=1970203). Have you found this to be the case too?
     
    MoreInStore, Oct 14, 2010 IP
  5. jackhooper

    jackhooper Active Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    #5
    My site traffic is vary with statcounter. Analytics shows approximately 15% less traffic.
     
    jackhooper, Oct 15, 2010 IP
  6. Lee6Pack

    Lee6Pack Peon

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    I love analytics. Been very please with it.

    If you were going to add a second tracking software to your site, what would you choose?
     
    Lee6Pack, Oct 15, 2010 IP
  7. sanjay1982

    sanjay1982 Peon

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Google Analytics is a good tool but we can't fully believe on this. I have seen its not showing stats from social network sites
     
    sanjay1982, Oct 15, 2010 IP
  8. gotlivechat

    gotlivechat Member

    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    35
    #8
    Google indicates a myriad of reasons, some of which are 'javascript disabled in browser', 'server caching of page', 'browser caching of page', etc. The only truly accurate reports are going to be those that use the web server logs. Not as easy as going into Analytics but more thorough.
     
    gotlivechat, Oct 15, 2010 IP
  9. wowcast

    wowcast Greenhorn

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    #9
    atleast for mine yes.
     
    wowcast, Oct 17, 2010 IP
  10. magda

    magda Notable Member

    Messages:
    5,197
    Likes Received:
    315
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #10
    statcounter gives higher numbers because it counts each visit from a dynamic ip as a separate visitor. GA doesn't because it drops cookies (you can see an obvious example of this in seeing how statcounter deals with visitors using AOL).
    People are always quick to accuse GA of being wrong when they see other tracking packages giving higher figures, but I'm sorry, if installed correctly GA is more accurate in tracking genuine human visitors.
    Other systems are reporting bots that hit your server without ever calling up a page, and as I said, multiple visitors for dynamic ips.
     
    magda, Oct 17, 2010 IP
  11. Atco-maart

    Atco-maart Peon

    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    I always get right stats and result with Analytic.
     
    Atco-maart, Oct 18, 2010 IP
  12. spymobilephonesoftware

    spymobilephonesoftware Member

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    #12
    Tool always not give accurate result, use always be for analysis not dependency on tool.
     
    spymobilephonesoftware, Oct 18, 2010 IP
  13. deepender

    deepender Peon

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    I think you did not put the code on every page, the code provided by google should be on every page than it will show hole report to you, sometimes I also feel it doest showing hole information but its good.

    Scratch Ticket - Scratch Money | Storage Units Barrie
     
    deepender, Oct 18, 2010 IP
  14. nearbysky@aol.com

    nearbysky@aol.com Peon

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    I had using Google Analytic and Awstats on my site. Google dont statistics the traffic from search engine crawlers. But the overall trends roughly the same between this two analytic tool.
     
    nearbysky@aol.com, Oct 18, 2010 IP
  15. DigiGold

    DigiGold Peon

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    I guess the best thing to do is look at analytics stats in a qualitative way rather than taking the numbers as absolute gospel, that said, if I had a paid web stats acct, I'd expect accuracy
     
    DigiGold, Oct 18, 2010 IP
  16. Card

    Card Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,060
    Likes Received:
    39
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    175
    #16
    No google analytics is showing accurate and correct results for my site.
     
    Card, Oct 18, 2010 IP
  17. bajones

    bajones Greenhorn

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    13
    #17
    I used to have my analytics code snippet at the bottom of the page on some of my older sites. But the new instructions call for it to be in the head - once I made this change my stats look much more reasonable.
     
    bajones, Oct 18, 2010 IP
  18. jackienjoy

    jackienjoy Greenhorn

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    #18
    At least, my website traffic is recorded by Google Analystics correctly. It works very well
     
    jackienjoy, Oct 18, 2010 IP
  19. anglesoft

    anglesoft Peon

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    Yes, Google analyitcs give the report from your website. how can your website rank, traffic.

    Search Engine Optimization
     
    anglesoft, Oct 21, 2010 IP
  20. tusharambalia

    tusharambalia Peon

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    Google Analytics provides true result only. Works fine for me.
     
    tusharambalia, Oct 21, 2010 IP