1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Is 72 dpi resolution Ok for printing?

Discussion in 'Photoshop' started by icpathi, Apr 4, 2009.

  1. #1
    I have heard that 300 dpi will be needed for a photoshop file that is going to be printed. But I am working on a 46 sq. inches file and it has no colors but black and white. Do I still need to work on a 300 dpi since I am already working in bigger size file?
    SEMrush
     
    icpathi, Apr 4, 2009 IP
    SEMrush
  2. innovati

    innovati Peon

    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    300dpi is the MINIMUM for print.

    You could always design your file as a vector, in which case the size doesn't matter because the file is resolution-independent and the filesize might be much smaller...
     
    innovati, Apr 4, 2009 IP
  3. icpathi

    icpathi Peon

    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Ok, So I work in a 10 sq. inches file. Its dpi is 400. If I print the file in 10 different size from 40 inches to 3 inches, will all the file's print will be good?
     
    icpathi, Apr 4, 2009 IP
  4. innovati

    innovati Peon

    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    I don't understand.

    If the print will be 40 inches wide, the document must be 40inches x 300pixels wide

    If the print will be 10 inches, as a minimum, the document must be 10inches x 300pixels

    Now, you can always print a resolution HIGHER than 300, do if it will be printed at various sizes, you only need to create the files for the highest resolution you will have to print.
     
    innovati, Apr 4, 2009 IP
  5. Crispy

    Crispy Peon

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    I would never use under 300dpi, just depends what size your printing.
     
    Crispy, Apr 5, 2009 IP
  6. icpathi

    icpathi Peon

    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Ok, if I am printing in the size of a A-4 sheet, is it ok to work at 72 dpi?
     
    icpathi, Apr 5, 2009 IP
  7. karthimx

    karthimx Notable Member

    Messages:
    4,949
    Likes Received:
    125
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    290
    #7
    no it should be a minimum of 300dpi if printing, for web 72dpi is fine.
     
    karthimx, Apr 5, 2009 IP
  8. innovati

    innovati Peon

    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    if you intend on printing the entire a4 sheet, then the whole sheet must be at 72dpi.

    The only way you can design at 72DPI and print at full quality would then be if you printed it at 24% the size it shows up on your screen. Anything other than that will look bad.
     
    innovati, Apr 5, 2009 IP
  9. Tom the Corset Maker

    Tom the Corset Maker Peon

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    If you have a 50lpi file, you will see no benefit in files above ~100-150dpi. There is only a certain amount of data that a line ruling can hold.
    Lines may appear pixelated at that resolution depending on the substrate - canvas and t-shirts won't show pixelation but if you print onto plastic...
     
    Tom the Corset Maker, Apr 6, 2009 IP
  10. innovati

    innovati Peon

    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    @Tom the Corset Maker: Are you even READING this thread? who mentioned 50lpi here? OBVIOUSLY when preparing files for use with different media you need to prepare it at that resolution. So the resolution for screenprinting on tshirts for you is 50lpi, that has nothing to do with screen resolution 72dpi, or print resolution 300dpi.

    You comment is totally irrelevant to this discussion, so it's sorta spam here.

    @icpathi: What is it you're designing, and what software are you using? Are you still confused about the resolution thing or do you need more specific help?
     
    innovati, Apr 6, 2009 IP
    icpathi and Nigel Lew like this.
  11. fender967

    fender967 Peon

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Your image must be 300dpi+ for the print size, if you are using photoshop or anything like that.

    For web, as people said, 72dpi is good.

    Also, if you're using illustrator, it will scale to any print size.
     
    fender967, Apr 6, 2009 IP
  12. digital29

    digital29 Peon

    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    i made the stupidity to draw something that took me 6 hours....with 72dpi...but it was well printed...
     
    digital29, Apr 8, 2009 IP
  13. innovati

    innovati Peon

    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    well, what was it, and at what size did you do it?

    You can design it at 72dpi, but knowing that it will be printed at 300DPI for full quality, you either print it at 24% of full quality at the size you see it on your screen, or you print it at 24% the size on your screen at full quality.

    My guess is you probably printed it somewhere in the middle, 150dpi, half size, half quality and didn't notice.
     
    innovati, Apr 8, 2009 IP
  14. icpathi

    icpathi Peon

    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    Thanks all. I have submitted my works successfully.

    innovati... I badly needed to rep you. But unable to :( Thanks anyhow, When I have spread enough reps to others, so that I can rep you, I'll surely rep you. It's the only thing I can do in return t your great support.
     
    icpathi, Apr 8, 2009 IP
  15. longcall911

    longcall911 Peon

    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    87
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Most decent graphics editors have a function that converts from one resolution (e.g. 72 dpi) to a different resolution (e.g. 600 dpi).

    It shouldn't take more than about 20 seconds to resize and resample an image. If you don't know how to do that, you need to learn your editor.

    /*tom*/
     
    longcall911, Apr 9, 2009 IP
  16. innovati

    innovati Peon

    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    @longcall: While you are technically correct, that you can resample an image to a higher resolution, it won't change the quality of it to a higher quality.

    All this does is simply stretch the image, not add detail to it.

    Simple to do? check
    Totally useless if you're trying to get more detail from a raster image? check
     
    innovati, Apr 9, 2009 IP
  17. icpathi

    icpathi Peon

    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    Very true innovati. That's why I asked if I have to work in 300 dpi. Anyhow, I did them in 300 dpi itself and it came fine to me.
     
    icpathi, Apr 9, 2009 IP
  18. innovati

    innovati Peon

    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    good to hear! I'm glad you got this sorted out and everything worked okay for you :) when do we get to see what you did?
     
    innovati, Apr 10, 2009 IP
  19. corpz

    corpz Peon

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    hi icpathi,

    just share info:)
    if you need for hi-res(billboard or something)
    just can say, using 10dpi (ten dpi)

    but if you need for booklet poster or something look same,
    300dpi is great res:)

    good luck
     
    corpz, Apr 10, 2009 IP
  20. marketing3

    marketing3 Peon

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    If you're working on large size image........... then the resolution of image must be of 300dpi......... However, if you're working in vector base graphic software then any resolution will be best for your.................... When the size of any image is increased or zoom in then pixel of that certain image will be torn....... and picture will not show clearly......... Thanks
     
    marketing3, Jun 4, 2012 IP