1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Integrating an RSS feed onto your site

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by Blogmaster, Apr 28, 2005.

  1. #1
    Blogmaster, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  2. T0PS3O

    T0PS3O Feel Good PLC

    Messages:
    13,220
    Likes Received:
    778
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    T0PS3O, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  3. noppid

    noppid gunnin' for the quota

    Messages:
    4,247
    Likes Received:
    232
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #3
    I have not published my code, but I would help ya out if my work can carry a linkback.
     
    noppid, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  4. GTech

    GTech Rob Jones for President!

    Messages:
    15,836
    Likes Received:
    571
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    I use Magpie RSS for Yahoo feeds. I have a number of them.

    http://magpierss.sourceforge.net/

    PM if you need help. It's easy to setup and use.

    Edit:

    Here's the code I use with Magpie to display news articles:

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2.  <?
    3.     require_once('rss/rss_fetch.inc');
    4.     $url = 'http://news.search.yahoo.com/usns/ynsearch/categories/news_story_search_rss/index.html?p=dallas';
    5.     $rss = fetch_rss( $url );
    6.     foreach ($rss->items as $item) {
    7.         $href = $item['link'];
    8.         $title = $item['title'];
    9.                 $description = $item['description'];
    10.                 $date = $item['pubdate'];
    11.         echo "<a href=$href class='rcontent'>$title</a><br>";
    12.         echo "<font size='1'><b>$date</b></font><br>";
    13.         echo "$description<br><br><br>";        
    14.     }
    15.  ?>
    16.  
     
    GTech, Apr 28, 2005 IP
    Mia likes this.
  5. flawebworks

    flawebworks Tech Services

    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #5
    flawebworks, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  6. noppid

    noppid gunnin' for the quota

    Messages:
    4,247
    Likes Received:
    232
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #6
    I myself purchased it. I find it to be very powerful. However there is a free version that is no slouch and others I have shared my code with get the same results I do minus the Feed proivder image and item images.

    It has a long history and is updated as necessary.
     
    noppid, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  7. Blogmaster

    Blogmaster Blood Type Dating Affiliate Manager

    Messages:
    25,859
    Likes Received:
    1,346
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    380
    #7
    Awesome, guys! Thank you :)

     
    Blogmaster, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  8. noppid

    noppid gunnin' for the quota

    Messages:
    4,247
    Likes Received:
    232
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #8

    Interesting code. Carp is more efficent and does that for you when parsing the link once and caches it that way.

    Less overhead for each pageview.
     
    noppid, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  9. Blogmaster

    Blogmaster Blood Type Dating Affiliate Manager

    Messages:
    25,859
    Likes Received:
    1,346
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    380
    #9
    Trying it out now.
     
    Blogmaster, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  10. TwisterMc

    TwisterMc Mac Guru

    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    13
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    I use Magpie RSS on many sites and love it. :)
     
    TwisterMc, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  11. noppid

    noppid gunnin' for the quota

    Messages:
    4,247
    Likes Received:
    232
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #11
    Great, now the secret is out, everyone will want it! :D
     
    noppid, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  12. noppid

    noppid gunnin' for the quota

    Messages:
    4,247
    Likes Received:
    232
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #12
    BTW the code posted is a violation of the yahoo TOS by not displaying the feed credit.

    /me put's on his TOS police hat. :D
     
    noppid, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  13. Blogmaster

    Blogmaster Blood Type Dating Affiliate Manager

    Messages:
    25,859
    Likes Received:
    1,346
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    380
    #13
    for real? good to know ahead of time :D
     
    Blogmaster, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  14. GTech

    GTech Rob Jones for President!

    Messages:
    15,836
    Likes Received:
    571
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    Yet you didn't take the time to post a reference that says the PHP code is a violation of their policy.

    Please...

    Put a link at the bottom of your page. The feed code has nothing to do with TOS.
     
    GTech, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  15. City2

    City2 Peon

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Zfeeder is awesome
     
    City2, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  16. noppid

    noppid gunnin' for the quota

    Messages:
    4,247
    Likes Received:
    232
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #16
    Oki Doki.

    I'm just trying to waste your time is all, ignore me.
     
    noppid, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  17. GTech

    GTech Rob Jones for President!

    Messages:
    15,836
    Likes Received:
    571
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    Yes, I know. Here is the TOS, for clarity:

    http://news.yahoo.com/rss

    So the PHP coding is not a violation. It couldn't be, as all it does is pull the feed contents into your page. You simply put a link above, or below your feed output that gives Yahoo News credit on your page.
     
    GTech, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  18. Blogmaster

    Blogmaster Blood Type Dating Affiliate Manager

    Messages:
    25,859
    Likes Received:
    1,346
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    380
    #18
    so a simple "News Provided by Yahoo!" link to them should take care of it, right?
     
    Blogmaster, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  19. GTech

    GTech Rob Jones for President!

    Messages:
    15,836
    Likes Received:
    571
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    I use "News by Yahoo News!" but in reviewing their TOS, it's just a request.
     
    GTech, Apr 28, 2005 IP
  20. noppid

    noppid gunnin' for the quota

    Messages:
    4,247
    Likes Received:
    232
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #20
    You did me a favor actually. After reviewing the TOS, I'm happy.

    TIP: Host the image locally and use it rather then the text.
     
    noppid, Apr 28, 2005 IP