1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Install Mac OS X on your PC, notebook or netbook - OSx86 project

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by MindBuzz, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. #1
    Hi,

    I've recently stumbled on the OSx86 project because a friend of mine introduced me to his Hackintosh computer. He has Mac OS X 10.5.6 installed on his Intel machine and it runs brilliant, I've seen it with my own eyes. He uses an OSx86 distribution called iPC OSx86.

    What is OSx86? How did it evolve? How can I install Mac OS X on my PC?

    The OSx86 project is dedicated to run Mac OS X (Apple's Intel-based Operating System) on regular x86 architecture personal computers, which usually run Windows.

    During the past years, the OSx86 project has grown to a significant size. The abilities to find help in order to solve an issue are overwhelming. If you want to install Mac OS X on your PC, read on!

    How did the OSx86 project evolve?

    The OSx86 project was made possible when Apple announced that it would be transferring their personal computer architecture from PowerPC to Intel microprocessors at the Worldwide Developers Conference (WWDC) in June 2005.

    How can I install Mac OS X on my PC?

    Did you finally make the decision to install Mac OS X on x86 computer, which is still running Windows at the moment you are reading this? Follow these steps to succeed!

    1. Visit the OSx86 Hardware Compatibility List to find out whether your hardware is compatible or not. If it turns out not to be compatible, you might want to try searching google for recommended and compatible OSx86 hardware.

    2. Now search for an OSx86 forum on the internet. I'd like to recommend the InfiniteMac OSx86 Community Forum. InsanelyMac is also a place you should visit. Navigate to "New Releases" to find out which release will work best with your hardware. Also, use these forums to search for your hardware in order to find drivers (kext files) and threads regarding your hardware, which might already contain solutions to common problems.

    3. Use the forum to ask for help regarding certain issues that you can't seem to be able to solve. Always make sure not to forget to add your hardware specifications when asking about problems. Also, it would be nice if you search before posting.

    4. After a successfull or unsuccessfull attempt of installing OSx86 on your PC, update the Hardware Compatibility List (HCL) to help the OSx86 project to succeed!

    Recommended OSx86 Hardware
    There are specific websites that link to OSx86-compatible hardware! Just search recommended osx86 hardware at Google.com!

    Have a lot of fun! :cool:

    Kind regards,
    M. B.
    SEMrush
     
    MindBuzz, Feb 26, 2009 IP
    SEMrush
  2. MindBuzz

    MindBuzz Active Member

    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #2
    Here's a screenshot of a user at the OSx86 forum mentioned above:

    [​IMG]

    That's a personally modified Mac OS X running on a regular PC! :cool: :cool:
     
    MindBuzz, Feb 26, 2009 IP
  3. midnight_focus

    midnight_focus Active Member

    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    #3
    I didn't know you can run Mac OS on IBM computer
    I'll do some researches
     
    midnight_focus, Feb 26, 2009 IP
  4. DarkLord7854

    DarkLord7854 Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #4
    I tried this a year or so ago, never managed to get past the install part because I only had SATA hard drives and it needed IDEs.. May have to give it a go, been wanting to have a Mac to fool around with.

    It's a real shame Apple don't sell their OS to be installed on any hardware.. :(
     
    DarkLord7854, Feb 26, 2009 IP
  5. MindBuzz

    MindBuzz Active Member

    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #5
    @DarkLord - I agree, on the first hand Apple wants to avoid it because it's their philosophy to sell computer hardware that matches their Mac OS X operating system perfectly. On the other hand, one can simply imitate Apple's hardware to run Mac OS X perfectly, without having to buy an expensive real mac! :)

    However, according to my friend Mac OS X also works on a lot of computers with AMD processors - Just do a bit of research! It's really great!

    And indeed, don't give up. Sign up at one of the communities (My friend says go to infinitemac -> http://www.infinitemac.com) and ask for help!

    The Mac OS X / OSx86 people you find there are friendly geeks who help to solve issues. :cool:
     
    MindBuzz, Feb 26, 2009 IP
  6. DarkLord7854

    DarkLord7854 Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #6
    @Mindbuzz That's very true, but the main gripe I have is that if you compare prices of hardware, Apple-built computers use the same hardware.. but charge a hefty percentage more :(

    Then again, you pay for design and stuff.


    A friend of mine had OSx86 running an AMD machine, it was a bit quirky though, but this was also a year or so ago, and it looks like they've made a lot of progress since, going to have to give it a go when I get home tonight.
     
    DarkLord7854, Feb 26, 2009 IP
  7. MindBuzz

    MindBuzz Active Member

    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #7
    Yes, you're right on the price. I've edited my previous post. :)

    Great! I've signed up myself at the community I mentioned above several days ago, because I'm going to try to install Mac OS X on my AMD PC with an ASUS mainboard this weekend. I already downloaded the distribution I need. I'm probably going to use Leo4All.

    By the way, I am a long-time apple user and do own several Mac OS licenses as well as old machines like a Power Mac G5. However, I also own two computers and I can't wait to run Mac OS X on both of them. Hehe. ;)
     
    MindBuzz, Feb 26, 2009 IP
  8. Dionysos2012

    Dionysos2012 Guest

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    That's great! I've wanted a mac computer for a long time but haven't been able to get one due to the price. Maybe I'll just start to try to install Mac os x on my computer this weekend. :eek: :)
     
    Dionysos2012, Feb 27, 2009 IP
  9. bnandika

    bnandika Active Member

    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    48
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #9
    I've been installing OSX 10.5 on my AMD X2 4800+, Gigabyte motherboard, GForce 8500GT more than a years, now I'm using iDeneb v1.4 10.5.6 and it runs perfect
     
    bnandika, Feb 27, 2009 IP
  10. MindBuzz

    MindBuzz Active Member

    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #10
    @bnandika: That's very nice to hear!

    Can you post a picture of your "about this mac" box?

    Thank you! :)
     
    MindBuzz, Feb 27, 2009 IP
  11. bnandika

    bnandika Active Member

    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    48
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #11
    now I'm using XxX 10.5.6 Leo Install Disc Rev1, I think it's the best for my AMD X2 4800+ and Gigabyte M61-PME-S2 mobo. The AMD recognized as 2.5 GHz Intel Core Duo, but still incompatible with sleep mode :(

    [​IMG]
     
    bnandika, Jun 22, 2009 IP
  12. Taranfx

    Taranfx Peon

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    Posting this from 10.6.2 Snow Leopard on Pc
     
    Taranfx, Dec 19, 2009 IP
  13. seven.fake.mail

    seven.fake.mail Peon

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    anyone know how to patch texas instrument sdcard reader and the pcmcia on laptop hp compaq nc4200?
    thx for advance :D
     
    seven.fake.mail, Sep 6, 2010 IP
  14. Jwoofter

    Jwoofter Greenhorn

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    #14
    SWEET!

    I would love to do this but I'm not good with code and the real nitty gritty of the computer scene...here's to a good try though lol
     
    Jwoofter, Sep 8, 2010 IP
  15. MindBuzz

    MindBuzz Active Member

    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #15
    @Jwoofter: You can find all of the information on the internet, all you really have to do is to read and try. :)

    You quickly learn once you spend some time on OSx86.
     
    MindBuzz, Sep 26, 2010 IP
  16. Taranfx

    Taranfx Peon

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    I've been installing snow leopard on PC for more than 2 years now. During this time I tried 6+ different techniques. If you need any help checkout my Snow leopard on pc installation guides. In case you need any help, contact me on @taranfx on twitter or PM me. I`ll try to help as much as I can.
    Please do read Osx86 wiki so that you dont trouble me for basic questions.
    cheers!
     
    Taranfx, Dec 5, 2010 IP
  17. Jacksgroove

    Jacksgroove Peon

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    HELLO EVERYONE,MY COMPLIMENTS FOR THIS FORUM.

    bnandika @ How did u make'd the set up's in Bios.Because for me dind't work have .Says "ERROR:Firewire unable determinate...."and after"Still waiting the root device".Only the Hazard version haved work'd for me.I have try ideneb,kallyway,zephyroth,iatkos.I have'd even upgrade Bios.Becasue in our BIOS we dont have AHCI option.But even with Hazard i have problems.Sometimes says "CMOS Ckecksum error - defaults loaded" and i have to press F1 to contiunue.This stuff happen only when shutting down on MAC,and restart.Or worst,the Pc wont start 4 nothing(i mean system)...remain freez'd....I have to take out the little battery from my Pc....to reset the Bios.....on widows i have no problems.I think i have to change DSDT for CMOS.Even i have choose the right DSDT on instalation.Special for AMD.

    My Pc:
    AMD Athlon(tm)64 x2 Dual Core Processor 5000+ 2.60Ghz,
    Motherboard : Gigabytes GA-M61PME-S2 ,
    4gb Ram
    Video : Geforce 9600 512 mb
    Network : nVidia nForce network
    Audio : nVIDIA nForce 6100-400/405/420/430 (MCP61)

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2011
    Jacksgroove, Feb 20, 2011 IP
  18. MindBuzz

    MindBuzz Active Member

    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #18
    Hey, the OSx86 scene is still thriving, of course. :)
     
    MindBuzz, Nov 12, 2011 IP