1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Instagram - Finding Influencers - Clueless newbie - help please!

Discussion in 'Social Networks' started by aroundthetwist2018, Apr 18, 2018.

Hi all,

My first post here. I'm sorry if this question sounds REALLY dumb! But I want to know how this works before I start pouring money into it.

I'm just starting out my journey as a dropshipper. I've spent a few weeks researching and learning and I'm pretty much ready to jump right in and get started. However...

I've been trying to get my head around Instagram from a business owner's perspective and, while I get the gist of it, I'm still not quite sure how it REALLY works. I've been going round in circles for 2 days now and my brain hurts! I'm pretty tech-savvy but until now have never been interested in Instagram, so it's a massive learning curve for me. I'm hoping to get some advice from you guys in here. This is what I did (and it didn't work!)

I decided to play around with an item that I thought would probably be quite popular, just to see how I would get Influencers and how they would promote my stuff. So, I looked for mugs with cats on, because everyone loves cats... right? :confused: I guess if I were the owner of a Shopify store that sold mugs with cats on, I would find Instagram Influencers that also loved cats, by typing "cats" into the search bar. Up comes "cats_of_instagram", so I click on their page. They have a massive 9M followers and loads of engagement on their page. But I can't find any photos of items they might be promoting... No mugs. No t-shirts. No, well, ANYTHING. So, am I right in assuming that not all people on Instagram with a huge following will promote your stuff??