1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

In-House Advertising

Discussion in 'Digital Point Ads' started by digitalpoint, Jul 25, 2010.

  1. chtdatweb

    chtdatweb Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,473
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #61
    Does this system support PPC rather than CPM like adwords. Apologies if this has been answered already.
     
    chtdatweb, Aug 10, 2010 IP
  2. jackqs

    jackqs Peon

    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #62
    it supports both cpc and cpm, but you can only add keywords while doing cpc and select different forums while doing cpm.
     
    jackqs, Aug 10, 2010 IP
  3. Abhik

    Abhik ..:: The ONE ::..

    Messages:
    11,338
    Likes Received:
    606
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    410
    Digital Goods:
    2
    #63
    Any facility to track the conversions? Something like Adwords offers?
     
    Abhik, Aug 12, 2010 IP
  4. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,324
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #64
    It doesn't currently track conversions. Maybe down the road, but as it is you can use Goigle Analytics to do it.
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 12, 2010 IP
  5. Ruddo

    Ruddo Member

    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #65
    I think you should implement a system to automatically check for broken links being displayed as advertisements. This will save the advertiser money when their site is down and it will also be a better experience for the person clicking the ad.
     
    Ruddo, Aug 13, 2010 IP
  6. chtdatweb

    chtdatweb Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,473
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #66
    Just out of interest do inline textual ads count as a back link? Kinda new to all this.
     
    chtdatweb, Aug 14, 2010 IP
  7. Helvetii

    Helvetii Notable Member

    Messages:
    4,412
    Likes Received:
    90
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    205
    #67
    Obviously, they don't.
     
    Helvetii, Aug 14, 2010 IP
  8. Jasonb

    Jasonb Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,486
    Likes Received:
    151
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    195
    #68
    I love the AJAX , the way the 'Your ad here' text slides down, makes me want to put my ad there :D :D

    @Shawn, congrats buddy
     
    Jasonb, Aug 14, 2010 IP
  9. chtdatweb

    chtdatweb Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,473
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #69
    Why is it so obvious? clearly to an individual/company dealing or have dealt with inline text advertising it would be, but I fail to see where it's so obvious to a novice like I FIRST pointed out.
     
    chtdatweb, Aug 16, 2010 IP
  10. Helvetii

    Helvetii Notable Member

    Messages:
    4,412
    Likes Received:
    90
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    205
    #70
    Because the link would go through a redirect to track stats :)
     
    Helvetii, Aug 16, 2010 IP
  11. chtdatweb

    chtdatweb Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,473
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #71
    Thanks for clearing that up much more helpful ;)
     
    chtdatweb, Aug 16, 2010 IP
  12. Guthix121

    Guthix121 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,078
    Likes Received:
    20
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #72
    Just curious - has anybody here had luck with this service? Is it worth an investment?
     
    Guthix121, Aug 25, 2010 IP
  13. jackqs

    jackqs Peon

    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #73
    ctr for cpm ads is really low, cpc ads are better ones
     
    jackqs, Aug 25, 2010 IP
  14. chtdatweb

    chtdatweb Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,473
    Likes Received:
    23
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #74
    I'm not having much luck at all.
     
    chtdatweb, Aug 25, 2010 IP
  15. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,324
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #75
    Just FYI... I made some internal changes to the inline keyword ads to cut out redundant keywords in the system (90% of the active keywords were redundant and taking resources every time a post was rendered).

    Let's say you run an ad with the following keywords:
    web hosting
    web hosting provider
    awesome web hosting
    linux web hosting
    rad web hosting
    Code (markup):
    They all contain "web hosting", and since a single post can only have 1 inline keyword ad, "web hosting provider" would never be linked (assuming everything else is equal and they all have the same bid price) because the post is already linking "web hosting".

    So now internally the system cuts out all the redundant keyword phrases when it's impossible for them to ever be linked (because part of the phrase is already in the system with an equal or greater bid).

    You shouldn't notice anything different on the front-end... it's just a performance thing ont he backend. But something to be aware of if you are pointlessly adding long tail variations of a phrase you already have.
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 28, 2010 IP
  16. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,324
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #76
    The system now supports graphic banners as well (GIF, JPEG and PNG based).
     
    digitalpoint, Sep 2, 2010 IP
  17. CoreyPeerFly

    CoreyPeerFly Notable Member Affiliate Manager

    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    240
    #77
    CoreyPeerFly, Sep 3, 2010 IP
  18. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,324
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #78
    Looks fine to me... are you using ad blocker software by chance? The class="yjojsycxekdjcpdypbxd" isn't coming from us.
     
    digitalpoint, Sep 3, 2010 IP
  19. CoreyPeerFly

    CoreyPeerFly Notable Member Affiliate Manager

    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    240
    #79
    Yeah, never mind. I'm using AdBlock Plus on FireFox and thought it was disabled on DP, but you need to disable it per sub domain. Adding the filter @@||*.digitalpoint.com fixed it.
     
    CoreyPeerFly, Sep 3, 2010 IP
  20. deluxdon

    deluxdon Catch Me If You Can...!!!™ Staff

    Messages:
    25,479
    Likes Received:
    1,943
    Best Answers:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    480
    #80
    Graphic banners (different-different colors) looks odd to me. This is just my point of view.

    DON.
     
    deluxdon, Sep 4, 2010 IP