1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

I need an advice on starting a forum

Discussion in 'Forum Management' started by YmT590, Dec 21, 2011.

Hello all, I'm trying to start a forum and I have no experience on how to do it. I know that I need to buy a domain name and a hosting plan but other than that I don't know what to do. So if someone could help me step by step on what to do or if there is a video tutorial I should watch then please let me know.

Thanks for your time.

YmT590, Dec 21, 2011 IP
  2. kruzzen

kruzzen Guest

Best Answers:
    Well you will have to decide what forum software best suits your needs after you get your domain and hosting. There are plenty of great free software out there including Simple Machines Forum and MyBB. There is also good paid ones including vBulletin, XenForo and IP.Board. Upload the software to your server and go through the installation process which most of the time is quite simple step by step. Make sure you read the requirements for each forum software.

kruzzen, Dec 22, 2011 IP
  3. Woodcs82

Woodcs82 Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    Hi,

I suggest you create multiple user names and start quite a few discussions. I also recommend hiring a few form posters/topic starters. Its important to keep your forum as active as possible. No one likes to go anywhere , where there is no activity.

Best,
    -C
    :cool:

Woodcs82, Dec 27, 2011 IP
  4. Days

Days Peon

Best Answers:
    As silly as having conversations with yourself sounds, it's not a bad idea and probably one of the cheapest ways to promote initial activity. You also need quality content that will make people want to engage in your community.

Days, Dec 27, 2011 IP
  5. Poupoutane