1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

I knew this was coming

Discussion in 'Guidelines / Compliance' started by sachin410, Aug 20, 2005.

  1. #1
    My friend was right- Google doesnt like high CTRs. Now look what they have done. They have banned my ip address from accessing Google ads. The idiots think I am clicking on my ads .

    I accessed many sites from my dial up connection and I see ads on each of them.

    I have tried to attach a screen capture of this forum. I hope it works :)
    SEMrush
     

    Attached Files:

    sachin410, Aug 20, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. norfstar

    norfstar Peon

    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    62
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    If you're not clicking your own ads - what's the problem?
     
    norfstar, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  3. Crazy_Rob

    Crazy_Rob I seen't it!

    Messages:
    13,155
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Why would this bother you?
     
    Crazy_Rob, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  4. sachin410

    sachin410 Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,423
    Likes Received:
    573
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    410
    #4
    I have no problem. But Google finds it hard to digest someone can have CTR of 40% :).
     
    sachin410, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  5. compar

    compar Peon

    Messages:
    2,705
    Likes Received:
    169
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    How did you "know it was coming"? That sounds like you were clicking on your own ads and expected to get caught?????
     
    compar, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  6. sachin410

    sachin410 Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,423
    Likes Received:
    573
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    410
    #6

    Its definitely a problem. How am I to run adsense on my site If I never get to see an ad ...lol. I cant use dial up all the time.
     
    sachin410, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  7. sachin410

    sachin410 Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,423
    Likes Received:
    573
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    410
    #7

    Read my first thread on this forum. I talked about a friend about my high CTR. He said google would 100% ban me. My only reason for coming to this forum was to know if others had any similar experience.
     
    sachin410, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  8. Crazy_Rob

    Crazy_Rob I seen't it!

    Messages:
    13,155
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Maybe your browser is messed up or something.
     
    Crazy_Rob, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  9. eiso

    eiso Peon

    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    19
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Have you thought about running some proxies.
     
    eiso, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  10. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,605
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    370
    #10
    I have a few sites with high CTRs and I still see ads... I'd go with Compar's version...
     
    fryman, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  11. norfstar

    norfstar Peon

    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    62
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Google AdSense wouldn't ban your IP because your site has a high CTR - they would ban it for the user(s) of that IP excessively clicking ads. Is your IP address shared with anyone?
     
    norfstar, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  12. dct

    dct Finder of cool gadgets

    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    328
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #12
    I don't believe that, Google knows what an acceptable CTR is for different layouts. They have access to everybody's stats and their are various sites out there with a better CTR than 40%.

    Does seem odd that you don't see the ads here :confused:
     
    dct, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  13. sachin410

    sachin410 Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,423
    Likes Received:
    573
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    410
    #13
    I dont think so...Everything's fime when I use dial up, so I dont think its a browser problem. Lets see.
     
    sachin410, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  14. aeiouy

    aeiouy Peon

    Messages:
    2,877
    Likes Received:
    275
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    I am confused... Unless you do heavy competitive filtering, you don't need to see your own ads so what difference does it make?

    The only reason you would need to see your own ads is to click on them. Is that your concern? Google is hiding your ads from you so you can't click on them?

    And you sure do seem to have a guility concious.
     
    aeiouy, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  15. sachin410

    sachin410 Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,423
    Likes Received:
    573
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    410
    #15
    No knowledge about that. All I have read are the two books in dummies's series about Google and SEO by Peter Kent and Brad Hill. Now I know what title tag, keyword meta tag and description meta tag is. :p
     
    sachin410, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  16. minstrel

    minstrel Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    15,082
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    480
    #16
    You are blocking your ads with something:
    • antivirus program possibly
    • firewall
    • anti-spam program
    • anti-spyware program
    • dial-up accelerator program
    • toolbar
    • javascript disabled in one or more browsers
    • you're using FireFox (I see Google ads fine in IE and have both browsers set to enable javascript but with the latest version of Firefox I don't see Google ads either)
     
    minstrel, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  17. programmer

    programmer Guest

    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    20
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    its strange - did u talk with google support team about that ?
     
    programmer, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  18. minstrel

    minstrel Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    15,082
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    480
    #18
    I really doubt that this is a Google issue. The OP says he can't view Google ads on this site, not just his own. I'm virtually certain this will turn out to be something on his end of the connection.
     
    minstrel, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  19. sachin410

    sachin410 Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,423
    Likes Received:
    573
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    410
    #19
    Will do that if it persists. I noticed it an hour back. I tried refreshing pages many times but didnt work. So I tried a dial up connection. Ads working fine there. Actually I am less worried than before coz now i think Google isnt going to kick me out without investigating.
     
    sachin410, Aug 20, 2005 IP
  20. exaro

    exaro Peon

    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    39
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    Yea and you did say you are using a dial up connection. Mabye they just don't load up well in narrowband connections
     
    exaro, Aug 20, 2005 IP