1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Bug I can post in marketplace forum, even though I bought premium subscription

Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by MadMan90, Mar 2, 2013.

  1. #1
    A few days ago I bought premium subscription, to try and sell something on the marketplace/sites section.
    Every time I try to create a post I get the following error:
    "The server did not respond in time. Please try again."
    I've read on some other posts that usually this error occurs when you don't verify the site, but I verified the site, with all 3 methods and I still get that error.

    Why is this happening?
    MadMan90, Mar 2, 2013 IP
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #2
    What is the URL for your verification file?
    digitalpoint, Mar 2, 2013 IP
  3. MadMan90

    MadMan90 Active Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    85
    #3
    Thank you for replying!

    I tried to list this site: free-online-directory.org
    Here is the verification file:

    http://www.free-online-directory.org/602831f3d7d8dcaccca03fc51cc8efe3.html
    MadMan90, Mar 2, 2013 IP
  4. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #4
    Everything looks okay on this end... can you try it again by chance?
    digitalpoint, Mar 3, 2013 IP
  5. MadMan90

    MadMan90 Active Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    85
    #5
    In order to make it work, I had to kill all the links from the post. I think that script also tried to verify all the links from my post(I had there dropbox links and some other)
    I think you should mention this in a big message when you try to make a post, I just spent over two days for a thing like this...
    MadMan90, Mar 3, 2013 IP
  6. MadMan90

    MadMan90 Active Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    85
    #6
    This was the post I tried to make: https://forums.digitalpoint.com/threads/web-directory-with-over-26-in-revenue-just-from-adsense-ads.2640834/
    MadMan90, Mar 3, 2013 IP
  7. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #7
    It shouldn't be an issue as long as the links don't take a long time to load... they are all checked in parallel, so it should only take as long as the slowest single one.
    digitalpoint, Mar 3, 2013 IP
  8. MadMan90

    MadMan90 Active Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    85
    #8
    But if you need to show some other files, and you post those to dropbox, like I did, the script can't verify it. I think it would be better to mention this somewhere, maybe other users will face this problem again in the future.
    MadMan90, Mar 3, 2013 IP
  9. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #9
    It will tell you that right away unless Dropbox is doing something weird like holding the connection open but not returning anything. At which point there's not a lot we can do about it... if they refuse the connection, or actually return something (anything), we know right away.
    digitalpoint, Mar 3, 2013 IP
  10. UnderHost_MSA

    UnderHost_MSA Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    150
    #10
    Same issue while using HTTPS on our ads, since we have "Premium" account for almost 3 years quite disappointed as i'm going to remove my subscription since we can't post anymore even Premium.
    UnderHost_MSA, Jul 14, 2013 IP
  11. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #11
    Huh?

    1. What does HTTPS on an ad have to do with someone's inability to verify their site ownership?

    2. You aren't a premium member (have haven't been since March), so there's no subscription you need to remove.

    3. Where exactly are you trying to post that you can't post (even without being premium)?
    digitalpoint, Jul 14, 2013 IP
  12. UnderHost_MSA

    UnderHost_MSA Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    150
    #12
    Hello Shawn,

    Thank you for taking time to reply to our inquiry.

    1: Your system when using https give an error "too slow" since https protocol is more slow than direct http, we tried via different domain we own even with one on a CDN that load within few millisecond even on https around the world and same happening so we are forced to use non SSL url.

    2: I was a premium member and had a subscription until I've replied to this thread since then I've cancelled my subscription as you stated we we're not premium anymore since "March" even if our subscription was paid for march, april, may, june, july...

    Here the transaction ID if you wish to verify:

    July: Unique Transaction ID # 8UB26833839759835
    June: Unique Transaction ID # 14F63988HS199171K
    May: Unique Transaction ID # 0H2930770R726323B
    April: Unique Transaction ID # 7F164102MH440660E
    March: Unique Transaction ID # 03M74773MP545142L

    So we assume you modified your site and deleted some premium members? as you can see we paid for nothing during at least 5 month... that's around 150$ without any service provided..

    3: On buy, sales and trade we worked around leaving SSL and removing some stuff from our ads.

    Let me know about the premium, do i should get it back or we will still pay for nothing?

    UnderHost_MSA, Aug 3, 2013 IP
  13. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #13
    What's the URL you are using in your post that the system is saying it's too slow? "Too slow" means the server that's serving it isn't responding in a reasonable amount of time. It has nothing to do with our site running HTTPS.
    digitalpoint, Aug 3, 2013 IP
  14. UnderHost_MSA

    UnderHost_MSA Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    150
    #14
    Our URL; as example https:// customerpanel.ca/client/ (can't post it here too)

    Are you going to verify about premium also?
    UnderHost_MSA, Aug 3, 2013 IP
  15. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #15
    The certificate that site is using looks like it wasn't properly installed (specifically doesn't include it's chain cert). http://www.sslshopper.com/ssl-checker.html#hostname=customerpanel.ca

    I suspect that's the underlying issue.

    There isn't anything to verify really since you canceled it.
    digitalpoint, Aug 3, 2013 IP
  16. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #16
    digitalpoint, Aug 3, 2013 IP
  17. UnderHost_MSA

    UnderHost_MSA Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    150
    #17
    I've cancelled it on 14th july after your reply where you said "your not premium" even if it was paid, i provided you transaction ID for past 5 month, with one on 6th july so even if my subscription as been cancelled on PayPal we should be still premium for July until 6th august.. ? I think that's a serious issue, since you took money without providing services?

    Btw thank you for fixing issue with my URL.
    UnderHost_MSA, Aug 3, 2013 IP
  18. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #18
    Oh, I thought you mentioned you canceled it a long time ago. It should be squared away.
    digitalpoint, Aug 3, 2013 IP
  19. UnderHost_MSA

    UnderHost_MSA Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    150
    #19
    No, as stated I've cancelled it since i was paying for nothing, we assume you modified the price from 29.95$/m to 25$/m back in march (date you see our subscription end) and this caused issue as there was a subscription at 29.95$/m.

    I would not have cancelled it otherwise... maybe we can arrange something like a 6 month free "subscription" to cover it, Since that's 150$ paid for nothing, as i see you added our subscription back until 6th April but still that does not cover our lost since march or this is settled for you that way?
    UnderHost_MSA, Aug 3, 2013 IP
  20. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,106
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Best Answers:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    27
    #20
    If there was a subscription of $29.95, it wasn't from us. Premium membership pricing has never changed.

    It had to do with you setting up your subscription in the old system (vBulletin), which was based on username and you changed your username, so PayPal was trying to apply the subscription payment to xmsax (the username it was set up under). Under the new system (XenForo), the PayPal subscriptions are based on user ID (which never changes).

    Either way, you've been credited for the time you weren't a premium member because of it (5 months).
    digitalpoint, Aug 3, 2013 IP