1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

http:// vs http://www

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by Ferrarislave, Dec 8, 2006.

  1. #1
    I 301 redirect http:// to http://www for SEO reasons, but this seems to have a negative effect on weight. Google's site command has more indexed pages without www. This is a site command bug. COOP uses the Google API to calculate weight, thus the weight hit.

    Shawn, is there anything I can do about this? Besides remove the redirects and use http:// in the coop options?
    SEMrush
     
    Ferrarislave, Dec 8, 2006 IP
    SEMrush
  2. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,605
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    370
    #2
    No, since you are doing a redirect the coop validator looks for the redirected pages.
     
    fryman, Dec 8, 2006 IP
  3. Ferrarislave

    Ferrarislave Peon

    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    38
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Not sure what you mean. But it will not validate without the www set in the url in the coop control panel.
     
    Ferrarislave, Dec 8, 2006 IP
  4. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,605
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    370
    #4
    If you are redirecting none www to www then the coop will only work on the www
     
    fryman, Dec 8, 2006 IP
  5. www.mazoo.co.uk

    www.mazoo.co.uk Peon

    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    i have a similar situation, only my homepage uses http://www.mazoo.co.uk all my other page use http://www.mazoo.co.uk/art etc as my site is based around oscommerce, i have set my account up without the www. and it have validated witout a problem and it gives me more weight than if i use www. from a seo point whats the difference? i have setup my google sitemap etc all without the www. am i doing something wrong should i get my site altered somehow?

    Regards.

    Kathryn.

    http://www.mazoo.co.uk
     
    www.mazoo.co.uk, Dec 31, 2006 IP
  6. Edmunds

    Edmunds Peon

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Just redirect http://www to http:// on your whole site.
     
    Edmunds, Jun 6, 2007 IP
  7. djrishi

    djrishi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    100
    #7
    r u crazy ??????????????
     
    djrishi, Jun 6, 2007 IP
  8. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,605
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    370
    #8
    This thread is 6 months old :rolleyes:
     
    fryman, Jun 6, 2007 IP
  9. kirby009

    kirby009 Peon

    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    I found that using none of them work domainname.com works ok.
     
    kirby009, Jun 12, 2007 IP
  10. osdude

    osdude Peon

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    I saw a rather large change when I changed one of my sites to http://site vs. http://www.site. There were more non canonical names in the search engine, but at least I was no longer splitting rank
     
    osdude, Apr 21, 2008 IP
  11. grseo

    grseo Banned

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Domain name not a problem. Just setup your website in google webmaster tool.
     
    grseo, Apr 5, 2009 IP