1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How To Upload A Simple ASP.NET Application To Prevent The Error

Discussion in 'C#' started by pooyadavoodi, Jan 15, 2008.

I am a professional programmer with c++ and c# but web development.
    This is my first attempt:
    I open the visual studio 2005 and create an asp.net website. then without any changes to this project, I upload it to a web server that I've bought but when I write the url in the browser, see this error:

Server Error in '/' Application.
    Runtime Error
    Description: An application error occurred on the server. The current custom error settings for this application prevent the details of the application error from being viewed remotely (for security reasons). It could, however, be viewed by browsers running on the local server machine.

I've tested these methods to deploy the website but no one works:
    1- copy all the files and folders of the project to www of the server by a ftp program
    2- publish the website by vs2005 and copy the results to the server
    3- copy the website by vs2005 to the server

but when I copy the project to localhost of my winXP IIS, I can run the application. I don't know the problem is in my project eg. configuration) or the server or the method of uploading.

Thanks in advance for your help.

pooyadavoodi, Jan 15, 2008 IP
  2. JohnZing

JohnZing Peon

Best Answers:
    Change your web.config file (website root).
    edit or Add if there is no customErrors entry
    to
    <customErrors mode="Off"/>

So you can see the REAL error message

JohnZing, Jan 15, 2008 IP
  3. pooyadavoodi

pooyadavoodi Peon

Best Answers:
    thanks for the attention,
    this is the web.config file: