1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

how to put html in vbulletin

Discussion in 'vBulletin' started by falguni1, Mar 5, 2008.

  1. #1
    I am the admin and I want to enable html only for admin
    I use vbulletin and I want to display html code in the post
    SEMrush
    like this

    <a href="http://www.dpbolvw.net/click-" target="_top">
    <img src="http://www.awltovhc.com/image-" width="234" height="60" alt="100% realtones only with Jamster!" border="0"/></a>

    I enabled html for admins in usergroup manager, it is not working it shows the code not the image
    wot should I do.
     
    falguni1, Mar 5, 2008 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Qryztufre

    Qryztufre Prominent Member

    Messages:
    6,072
    Likes Received:
    491
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    300
    #2
    vB cleanses, or parses, or somethings the image url so that it won't show unless it's an actual image.

    So it needs to have a .gif, .jpg, .png, or something like that for it to properly work.

    Save the image in the size you want, then upload it to the server or free image host, and link from there....

    If you do it that way, then you likely wont need the HTML enabled either, as you'll be able to link through the img & url bbtags
     
    Qryztufre, Mar 5, 2008 IP
  3. falguni1

    falguni1 Peon

    Messages:
    3,019
    Likes Received:
    66
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    thanks, still I want to use the code I wrote above.

    how to use it.
     
    falguni1, Mar 5, 2008 IP
  4. Shadab

    Shadab Peon

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Are you using the WYSIWYG editor type while pasting the code into your post ?

    If yes, then try changing the editor mode (to a normal non-WYSIWYG mode)
    and try again.
     
    Shadab, Mar 10, 2008 IP
  5. Qryztufre

    Qryztufre Prominent Member

    Messages:
    6,072
    Likes Received:
    491
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    300
    #5
    While it's an extra step, pasting into notepad, then re-copying again can "work" for that. (I have to do that from pasting from word into wordpress)

    Then again, if you are using Word to generate your HTML, that in and of itself may be the trouble... (MS really sucks)

    Though I still believe 100% that it's the cleansing issue with there being no file extension on the image.
     
    Qryztufre, Mar 10, 2008 IP
  6. GTL

    GTL Banned

    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Did you edit this option?

    Allow HTML BBCode

    If so that is different to actual HTML. HTML BBCode doesn't allow people to post HTML code in their posts. You can see it HERE.

    Try it out, in a post put this [ht*ml]random test here[/ht*ml] and you'll see if just puts the text in a box. (Remove the *'s)

    If you want to be able to post HTML you need to edit the settings in each individual forums' settings, but that is a big security risk.
     
    GTL, Mar 10, 2008 IP
  7. coolbreeze86

    coolbreeze86 Active Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #7
    Hi may i know how to enable HTML for Administrator. Is enabling for Administrator will create security problem?
     
    coolbreeze86, Aug 6, 2010 IP
  8. Qryztufre

    Qryztufre Prominent Member

    Messages:
    6,072
    Likes Received:
    491
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    300
    #8
    Yes... though not nearly as bad as for members.
     
    Qryztufre, Aug 6, 2010 IP
  9. jankles

    jankles Peon

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    What is the security risk for enabling HTML for admins?
     
    jankles, May 14, 2011 IP
  10. Qryztufre

    Qryztufre Prominent Member

    Messages:
    6,072
    Likes Received:
    491
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    300
    #10
    Do you trust your admin ;)

    A forum's security is only as safe as it's admins password. If such a thing gets in the wrong hands, then you tell me what the security risk is.

    As for Super Admin, well, heh, that's just a risk every member takes...
     
    Qryztufre, May 14, 2011 IP