1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How to move my forum from one host to another

Discussion in 'Forum Management' started by error47, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. #1
    I have an IPB forum, and my host is very weak. So I want to move my forum to another hosting company, how do I do it?
    SEMrush
     
    error47, Jul 21, 2008 IP
    SEMrush
  2. BMR777

    BMR777 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #2
    I've never used IPB from an admin perspective, but moving a forum from one host to another is easy. There are two ways to do this:

    1. If you have CPanel on both old and new host then just have your host transfer your account.

    2. If you don't have CPanel, then you can:

    1. Back Up your Forum's Database in PHPMyAdmin or IPB Admin CP on old host
    2. Backup IPB files w/ FTP (backup the IPB config file for sure, probably config.php or settings.php, but I'm not sure with IPB)
    3. On new host, re-upload IPB files to server
    4. On new host, create new database and database user, then use PHPMyAdmin to import the database backup
    5. In the IPB config.php or configuration file you downloaded, replace old database info with new info.

    Those are the standard procedures for moving a forum from one server to another. They very slightly for all forum software, but it should be similar for IPB.

    BMR777
     
    BMR777, Jul 21, 2008 IP
  3. error47

    error47 Active Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #3
    What is the config file, and how do I do step 5?
    Thanks.
     
    error47, Jul 21, 2008 IP
  4. BMR777

    BMR777 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #4
    In the folder where you installed IPB, find the conf_global.php file. You should see your old database information listed there, including a database username, database password and database name. Usually it will look like you_database or something similar. Change these values from the old host database info to that of the new host.

    :)
     
    BMR777, Jul 21, 2008 IP
  5. gate2vn

    gate2vn Peon

    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    33
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Can your new host help you in this? It's an easy task
     
    gate2vn, Jul 21, 2008 IP
  6. error47

    error47 Active Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #6
    They won't help me with the transfer process, and they also said that it's up to me to figure out how to transfer the domain too. I want to transfer to mediatemple gridserver, but this makes me think how good their support is. I dont like netfirms hosting, but their support is very good.
     
    error47, Jul 21, 2008 IP
  7. Neptune

    Neptune Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    25
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #7
    I would not go with either of those companies if I where you. I would look for a more reliable host. you should not have to change anything in the config file at all once you change hosts, as long as you create the exact same database on the new host.
     
    Neptune, Jul 21, 2008 IP
  8. error47

    error47 Active Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #8
    I really like Mediatemple, and they look like they have some very advanced servers. I dont want oversellers, and they look good. Better than hostgator.
     
    error47, Jul 21, 2008 IP
  9. Neptune

    Neptune Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    25
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #9
    That is true oversellers are a bit crappy. I have had experience with Mediatemple though, and though you may think they have good hardware, they do not give a rats ass about the customer. At least that is what I learned. I left, went dedicated and have never turned back. Especially if your forum is growing, it is always nice to have the extra power. I do not know how much you pay, but to me it is worth the extra.

    You said no overselling:

    # 100 GBs of premium storage
    # 1 TB of short-path monthly bandwidth
    # Host up to 100 individual sites
    # 1000 email accounts
    # 64 MB Ruby/Mongrel container

    That is overselling. MAJORLY as well

    How do you think they make their money.
     
    Neptune, Jul 21, 2008 IP
  10. Wreckadge

    Wreckadge Active Member

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #10
    Hostgator transferrers for free. :)
     
    Wreckadge, Jul 21, 2008 IP
  11. error47

    error47 Active Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #11
    Wow Neptune never knew that. I was really looking forward to purchasing mediatemple, they looked really good compared to other companies. Also they have the mySQL smartpool v.2 . They seem to be the fastest "tier4". So you have changed my mind, what do you suggest is better and faster then mediatemple?
     
    error47, Jul 21, 2008 IP
  12. Neptune

    Neptune Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    25
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #12
    Neptune, Jul 21, 2008 IP
  13. error47

    error47 Active Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #13
    Mediatemple does have a moneyback guarantee, so I think I am going to give it a try, im only paying monthly, so even after the first month, if I don't like it, I can try something else.

    I forgot to ask about one thing, what happens to the domain name? How do I transfer that? will the domain have to stay with my host?
     
    error47, Jul 21, 2008 IP
  14. Neptune

    Neptune Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    25
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #14
    Umm. Did you register it through your host or did you use like GOdaddy or NameCheap? If you used your host, you will have to transfer it to a registrar like godaddy or namecheap. If they let you. A lot of the hosts will register the domain name in their name and not release it to you. Good luck with MediaTemple.
     
    Neptune, Jul 21, 2008 IP
  15. error47

    error47 Active Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #15
    I registered it with Netfirms, so where do I transfer it godaddy or mediatemple, am I allowed with netfrims?
     
    error47, Jul 21, 2008 IP
  16. Neptune

    Neptune Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    25
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #16
    I would transfer it to NameCheap, NOT Godaddy. You should be able to transfer away from Netfirms.
     
    Neptune, Jul 22, 2008 IP
  17. error47

    error47 Active Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #17
    Does it cost anything to transfer to namecheap, can I transfer directly to mediatemple?
     
    error47, Jul 22, 2008 IP
  18. mudassar

    mudassar Banned

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    PM me, I will transfer this for you, if you still couldn't transfer this !!!!!!
     
    mudassar, Jul 22, 2008 IP
  19. SteelTrepid

    SteelTrepid Guest

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    Thanks BMR777!!
    While it wasn't exact instructions I was still able to move my DB over to my new forum thanks to your information. I can't believe I almost paid $60 for this 5 minute fix! Thanks again man.
     
    SteelTrepid, Sep 16, 2008 IP