1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How To Install Joomla ? FTP= messed up

Discussion in 'Joomla' started by mikka23, Feb 2, 2007.

  1. #1
    Okay I installed joomla on my first server by uploading every file with an ftp. Now when I try to install templates and DOCMAN the images don't work and it doesnt install properly. I think the css might not work either. Is there any reason which could cause this? Also is there an easier way to install it in the first place.
     
    mikka23, Feb 2, 2007 IP
  2. aplus

    aplus Peon

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    If you are using windows and uploaded to a linux server there is a good chance that the folder permissions are wrong.
    The templates, modules and components directories must be writtable by the apache user.
     
    aplus, Feb 3, 2007 IP
  3. mikka23

    mikka23 Peon

    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Yeah but my ftp has stopped uploading properly. I have changed permissions and so forth manually.
     
    mikka23, Feb 3, 2007 IP
  4. antman

    antman Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    106
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    130
    #4
    Do you have cPanel? If so, there are many extra tools that can install it for you. [Fantastico] I did come across a website [I'll see if I can find it] that installs it for you instantly for free [just enter the FTP details]
     
    antman, Feb 3, 2007 IP
  5. mikka23

    mikka23 Peon

    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Oh my god, how did I forget about fantastico. Damn! Thanks.
     
    mikka23, Feb 3, 2007 IP
  6. lorzlover

    lorzlover Peon

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    I made the same mistake yesterday. I forgot about Fantastico.
     
    lorzlover, Feb 3, 2007 IP
  7. mikka23

    mikka23 Peon

    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Still messed up for me though. I installed joomla fine but when I try to install a new template or component it doesnt install pictures or anything so its just a mess.
     
    mikka23, Feb 4, 2007 IP
  8. aplus

    aplus Peon

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    joomla installs are very straightforward. What exactly was your problem?
     
    aplus, Feb 4, 2007 IP
  9. mikka23

    mikka23 Peon

    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    I am not sure, when i try to install a template through the joomla panels via upload of the zip it doesnt upload the images and doesnt install them properly.
     
    mikka23, Feb 4, 2007 IP
  10. nikg

    nikg Peon

    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    25
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Check if your server has safe mode to OFF. If safe mode is On you get many problems when working with joomla.

    Also when you install a component you must have the permissions of the following folders set to 777

    administrator/components
    components
    media

    For modules:
    administrator/modules
    modules
    media

    But most probably it's safe mode that causing the problems
     
    nikg, Feb 4, 2007 IP
  11. mikka23

    mikka23 Peon

    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    PHP is is safe mode by default by my host. I will check and try and change it. Thanks for the tip.
     
    mikka23, Feb 4, 2007 IP