1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How to hide link's url?

Discussion in 'JavaScript' started by Betty_S, Feb 1, 2007.

  1. #1
    Hi everyone,

    I can't use html forms so I can't use[ 'method=post'].

    Instead, I use [window location="…";]. I'm using the url to pass parameters, how can I hide them or hide the whole link?

    Thanks in advance.
     
    Betty_S, Feb 1, 2007 IP
  2. ancer

    ancer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    15
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    128
    #2
    Hi. I use this script.

    <script>

    //Hide status bar msg script- by javascriptkit.com
    //Visit JavaScript Kit (http://javascriptkit.com) for script
    //Credit must stay intact for use

    //configure status message to show
    var statusmsg=""

    function hidestatus(){
    window.status=statusmsg
    return true
    }

    </script>

    at each link do this

    <a href = 'http://www.abc.com' onMouseover="return hidestatus()">

    Hope this helps.
     
    ancer, Feb 2, 2007 IP
  3. Richie_Ni

    Richie_Ni Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    10,721
    Likes Received:
    1,175
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    410
    #3
    Did you mean hide the status bar message?
    Use the code below if yes.
    	<script>
    function hidestatus(){
    window.status=''
    return true
    }
    
    if (document.layers)
    document.captureEvents(Event.MOUSEOVER | Event.MOUSEOUT)
    
    document.onmouseover=hidestatus
    document.onmouseout=hidestatus
    </script>
    Code (markup):
     
    Richie_Ni, Feb 2, 2007 IP
  4. ancer

    ancer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    15
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    128
    #4
    yeah... and that one too...
    Thanks Richie_Ni
     
    ancer, Feb 2, 2007 IP
  5. Betty_S

    Betty_S Peon

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Thanks but I meant to hide the link in the address bar so the user can see the passed parameters. I want to remind you that I'm not using a form so I can't use the post method.

    TKS IN ADVNS
     
    Betty_S, Feb 4, 2007 IP
  6. Richie_Ni

    Richie_Ni Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    10,721
    Likes Received:
    1,175
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    410
    #6
    Hide the link in the address bar or status bar?
    What do you mean by?:confused:
    Can you tell me what do you want to do?
     
    Richie_Ni, Feb 4, 2007 IP
  7. matt9b

    matt9b Peon

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    tried this script and the other one, neither of them work. any ideas?
     
    matt9b, Dec 31, 2008 IP
  8. chiquito

    chiquito Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    123
    #8
    thanks i used this way:

    <style type="text/css">
    a.hidden
    {
    display: none;
    }
    </style>
    <p class="x_hide"><a href="http://site.com" class="hidden" id="myHiddenClass">BLABLABLA</a></p>

    But i have a question how to make it to be in top header, super top???!
     
    chiquito, Jan 10, 2010 IP
  9. camjohnson95

    camjohnson95 Active Member

    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #9
    I understand what you mean.. why can't you use a form? You can use AJAX to 'POST' the data, and then display a response. Alternatively, you could use javascript to create a FORM element, add all your elements that you want to submit and then run the submit() method. Which would hide the querystring (which i think is what you want). For example:
    
    <input id="txt1" name="txt1" type="text" /><br />
    <input id="txt2" name="txt2" type="text" /><br />
    <input id="btnSubmit" type="button" value="Submit" />
    <script type="text/javascript" >
        document.getElementById("btnSubmit").onclick = function() {
            var myForm = document.createElement("form");
            myForm.appendChild(document.getElementById("txt1"));
            myForm.appendChild(document.getElementById("txt2"));
            myForm.method = "POST"
            myForm.action = "MyHandler.php";
            myForm.style.display = "none";
            document.body.appendChild(myForm);
            myForm.submit();
        }
    </script>
    
    Code (markup):
    If you have a few inputs then you could just place them within a DIV and add all the elements from that div to the form you created to shorten the code.

    (sorry, didn't realise the age of this thread until then)
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2010
    camjohnson95, Jan 13, 2010 IP
  10. Andy_ameed

    Andy_ameed Active Member

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    #10
    it can be hidden using javascript and then using css.
     
    Andy_ameed, Jan 14, 2010 IP
  11. cladkins

    cladkins Peon

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Nice Post!!!!Nice Post!!!!
     
    cladkins, Feb 10, 2010 IP
  12. rahele

    rahele Peon

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    how can i hide a url that has parameter ? and i want to save parameter .
     
    rahele, Nov 7, 2010 IP
  13. david2211

    david2211 Peon

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    Hey a simple solution would be to use http://s-urlz.com you can create a small url from your original one example

    http://forums.digitalpoint.com can be transformed into
    http://s-urlz.com/digitalpoint or
    http://s-urlz.com/10f9ec

    hidding your original url (you can even track the uses of urls on a world map with time interval)

    hope it helps
     
    david2211, Feb 14, 2012 IP
  14. JohnnySchultz

    JohnnySchultz Peon

    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    you can only do it via the post method. what you can do is when you submitted the data on a certain page, save it to a session then redirect to a page with no parameters so your user will not view the parameters..
     
    JohnnySchultz, Feb 15, 2012 IP
  15. ppce

    ppce Peon

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    seriously ... use bestcontactform.com. No programming knowledge required. their forms track keywords, too.
     
    ppce, Apr 6, 2012 IP