1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How to connect laptop to desktop - Plz help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MeetHere, Dec 11, 2007.

  1. #1
    I seriously need help on this topic.
    Sorry for my dump question, i am total novice in this field :D

    I want to connect my laptop and desktop so that :
    SEMrush
    -- share files between cpu of laptop and desktop

    -- Use CPU of desktop and screen of laptop

    -- use screen of desktop and cpu of laptop

    -- Also, how to connect laptop to TV ?

    Plz dont laugh, what things are possible and how :eek:
     
    MeetHere, Dec 11, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. ::Mike::

    ::Mike:: Peon

    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Look up TightVNC.
     
    ::Mike::, Dec 11, 2007 IP
  3. MeetHere

    MeetHere Prominent Member

    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    994
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    330
    #3
    I think thats totally unrelated to what i want..
     
    MeetHere, Dec 11, 2007 IP
  4. ahkip

    ahkip Prominent Member

    Messages:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    647
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #4
    you are wrong..that program can do at least two thing you want to do
     
    ahkip, Dec 11, 2007 IP
  5. ::Mike::

    ::Mike:: Peon

    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    It allows you to see your desktop in your laptop which is currently what I am doing, meaning that I'm using all the desktops resources, this is using tight VNC.
    I also am using a separate connection I'm using a crossover cable going through my house so it will not waste my LAN.
     
    ::Mike::, Dec 11, 2007 IP
  6. Brandon Sheley

    Brandon Sheley Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    9,719
    Likes Received:
    609
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    420
    #6
    If both machines are XP, then you can go to the file sharing wizard and do what your after pretty easily.
    I'm sure you can with vista as well, but it'll have some pretty icons or something that will make it harder..lol
     
    Brandon Sheley, Dec 11, 2007 IP
  7. MeetHere

    MeetHere Prominent Member

    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    994
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    330
    #7
    Guys I am asking for hardware/cable.. :D

    Which cable is required for these tasks and for TV attachment ?

    (sorry for not specifying :eek:)
     
    MeetHere, Dec 11, 2007 IP
  8. ::Mike::

    ::Mike:: Peon

    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    google wintv
    the name is something stupid like happage?
    if you search wintv it will be their.
     
    ::Mike::, Dec 11, 2007 IP
  9. Tray

    Tray Peon

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. twistedspikes

    twistedspikes Notable Member

    Messages:
    5,694
    Likes Received:
    293
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #10
    You want an eithernet cable to connect the two computers.
     
    twistedspikes, Dec 11, 2007 IP
  11. uglyboy

    uglyboy Peon

    Messages:
    1,963
    Likes Received:
    134
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    uglyboy, Dec 11, 2007 IP
  12. Husam

    Husam Peon

    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    Husam, Dec 11, 2007 IP
  13. MeetHere

    MeetHere Prominent Member

    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    994
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    330
    #13
    MeetHere, Dec 11, 2007 IP
  14. ::Mike::

    ::Mike:: Peon

    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    Its stupid to use a USB connection, you want crossover cat5 cable.
     
    ::Mike::, Dec 12, 2007 IP
  15. Arcanus

    Arcanus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #15
    I used to before i had to wipe my laptop..had it set up through my wireless router.
    File sharing between pc's.
    whatever was in shared folder was accessable on either pc.

    But yea the crossover cable is prolly the cheapest lol.
     
    Arcanus, Dec 12, 2007 IP
  16. procrastinator

    procrastinator Peon

    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    56
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    crossover cable , use ftp .
    best idea - get a wifi router , connect it directly to pc lan card.
     
    procrastinator, Dec 12, 2007 IP