1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How to add exclude keywords?

Discussion in 'Yahoo Search Marketing' started by transburgh, Feb 6, 2007.

  1. #1
    How do you add exclude keywords to an existing ad group?
    SEMrush
     
    transburgh, Feb 6, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. feeblminds

    feeblminds Peon

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    I know its a pain but you can request an xls file from yahoo and specify your required exclusions on there.
     
    feeblminds, Feb 6, 2007 IP
  3. transburgh

    transburgh Peon

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    I figured it out. You can add the words on the site....no xls file needed.
     
    transburgh, Feb 7, 2007 IP
  4. feeblminds

    feeblminds Peon

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    How do you do that because I've always used the xls sheet
     
    feeblminds, Feb 7, 2007 IP
  5. transburgh

    transburgh Peon

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Go into a "campaign"

    then go into a specific "ad group"

    click "ad group settings" (not the drop down)

    click the "edit" button on the "tactical settings" box

    Find the "exclude words" on the left side of the screen under "match type" and click "show"

    Now you can enter the words you want to exclude.
     
    transburgh, Feb 8, 2007 IP
  6. feeblminds

    feeblminds Peon

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Ok you lost me, are you sure you're talking about yahoo, cos it sounds like google to me?
     
    feeblminds, Feb 8, 2007 IP
  7. transburgh

    transburgh Peon

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Are you using the new Yahoo Panama Interface or the old one? I can assure you it is Yahoo.
     
    transburgh, Feb 8, 2007 IP
  8. enhancedconcepts

    enhancedconcepts Guest

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Transburgh is correct. I was wondering the same thing but it was exactly in the tactic settings within the Ad Group area.

    Note though Yahoo also states, "Excluded words only apply if the advanced match type is enabled for Sponsored Search." So maybe if you are in standard mode, the exclude section doesn't appear.

    Before, I had even searched Yahoo's help section (which is terrible) and it didn't provide any information about excluding keywords. I typed in "exclude keywords' into their search window while on the Ad Group and received results about "choosing keywords" and some other non-relevant links.

    Thanks Transburgh! Most people probably don't even use negative (or excluding) keywords. Big mistake especially now that Yahoo moved to the new quality index bid pricing.
     
    enhancedconcepts, Feb 17, 2007 IP
  9. mcastrigno

    mcastrigno Peon

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Problem here is you cannot exclude exact matches.
    So if there are phrases that are made of good words but you have high organic results for your ads show up and you are wasting money.
    The answer is to only do excact matching for your ads. This is not good for you or Yahoo. Google lets you exclude exact phrases. For this reason I really dislike yahoo. I think they know this about their system and are taking their advertisers for a bunch of dummies - not this one though.
     
    mcastrigno, Feb 20, 2007 IP
  10. vtech

    vtech Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    45
    #10
    I have followed the above instructions exactly, and looked in both the campaign as well as the ad group settings, but this no longer seems to be how negative words are added?

    Any suggestions?

    (and why does it have to be made so difficult - yes this question is rhetorical)
     
    vtech, Sep 6, 2009 IP
  11. satyappc

    satyappc Peon

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Transburgh expalined the right way to exclude the keywords in ad group level
     
    satyappc, Sep 7, 2009 IP
  12. vtech

    vtech Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    45
    #12
    Agreed.

    I had missed it.

    For anyone else looking for this, the instructions are correct, after landing on the "Ad Group Tactic Settings" page, look at the right hand side of the screen and will say:

     
    vtech, Sep 7, 2009 IP