1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How often to update Sitemap on google

Discussion in 'Google Sitemaps' started by jennypretty, Mar 6, 2006.

  1. #1
    Hello friends,
    I used a free script to run google sitemap and submitted on google sitemap. If I run the sitemap again (I do it weekly for updates), then do I have to submit this sitemap on google again? or, does google automatically pick it up?
    Thanks.
    Jenny.
    SEMrush
     
    jennypretty, Mar 6, 2006 IP
    SEMrush
  2. corinaw

    corinaw Not Banned

    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    69
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    No, google will go back and periodically check the same file you submitted. Assuming you're running the sitemap program which generates the same output file (name) that was submitted to google, you should be fine.
     
    corinaw, Mar 6, 2006 IP
  3. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,987
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    There is a note in your sitemaps account saying "Last downloaded" so you can check when google last looked at the sitemap.
     
    mad4, Mar 6, 2006 IP
  4. clancey

    clancey Peon

    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    You can ping Google when you update the sitemap. You should be certain it includes new information. My server is on a Linux box and I use the wget program as follows:

    
    wget www.google.com/webmasters/sitemaps/ping?sitemap=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.MYDOMAIN.com%2FmySITEMAP.xml
    
    
    Code (markup):
     
    clancey, Mar 6, 2006 IP
  5. av1

    av1 Active Member

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #5
    is there a way to ping google through php ? not every hosting company allows shell cmds on shared hosting plans.
     
    av1, Mar 6, 2006 IP
  6. corinaw

    corinaw Not Banned

    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    69
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    corinaw, Mar 6, 2006 IP
  7. av1

    av1 Active Member

    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #7
    thanks, should have discovered that myself from the above example;)
     
    av1, Mar 6, 2006 IP
  8. bermudaviper

    bermudaviper Peon

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Glad someone asked this, I was just wondering the same thing!! Thanks
     
    bermudaviper, Mar 13, 2006 IP
  9. adstracker

    adstracker Peon

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Blogs ping automatically. But I don't know about Sitemaps.
    I use Sitemaps for some months know, and one thing is really annoying:
    They're updating slooooooooooooooow.
     
    adstracker, Mar 13, 2006 IP
  10. softplus

    softplus Peon

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    IMHO Pinging Google for Google Sitemaps is outdated and has no function (but I can't find the original posting by "Google Engineer" in the sitemaps-group).

    Google will pick up the sitemap file twice daily, that should be enough for most users.
     
    softplus, Mar 14, 2006 IP