1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How often do you update your sitemaps?

Discussion in 'Google Sitemaps' started by monosodium, Jun 21, 2007.

  1. #1
    I realize there has already been a thread which tangentially covered this topic, but i wanted to post a specific thread addressing just this topic. This is a poll of sorts, I guess.
    SEMrush
    How often do you update your sitemaps on average?

    And, by the way, you might also want to state the number of URLs contained in your sitemap, and your pagerank so that perhaps this 'poll' can help yield some useful reference.

    Here's my data:

    So far, sitemap freshly uploaded, planning on weekly but depends on what you all post.

    260,000 URL's
    PR 5
     
    monosodium, Jun 21, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. svarog

    svarog Peon

    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    21
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    I do it constantly, and automatically.

    All my sites are Wordpress blogs, so on the large blogs that I actually put time into, I use the Google Sitemap plugin to generate a huge sitemap. The sitemap is updated with each new post.

    With my smaller, automated blogs, I use the feed as the sitemap, and it is too, updated each time there's a new post. The reason I don't use the plugin is because my RSS scraper doesn't make it update each time there's new posts.

    As to efficiency - this works like a charm, new pages are indexed in a day or two, and new blogs never take more then a week to index.
     
    svarog, Jun 21, 2007 IP
  3. bestphp

    bestphp Banned

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    I just do it ONCE.
     
    bestphp, Jun 21, 2007 IP
  4. Jim4767

    Jim4767 Prominent Member

    Messages:
    4,598
    Likes Received:
    701
    Best Answers:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    305
    #4
    • Nonprofit site. PR4 home page. Most inner pages are PR4 or PR3.
    • About 125 indexed pages, all personally written, not generated. Unique content on each page.

    I submit a new sitemap.xml each time I add a new page.
     
    Jim4767, Jun 21, 2007 IP
  5. trichnosis

    trichnosis Prominent Member

    Messages:
    13,785
    Likes Received:
    333
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    300
    #5
    i'm using wordpress sitemap generator for my sitemap and i'm updating it after i add content to my site
     
    trichnosis, Jun 21, 2007 IP
  6. monosodium

    monosodium Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    100
    #6
    thank you all for your input.

    i think what svarog says is a big clue, sitemaps need to be automated and in sync with content.

    everytime i resubmit my sitemap to google, it says something like "sitemap last downloaded 17 minutes ago" or "5 minutes ago" or something really recent. at first i kept thinking "oh damn! just missed it!" but now i am suspecting that google comes looking for the sitemap very, very often. like all day long. consequently am updating daily now. one of these days i will figure out a way to do it automatically, on the server.
     
    monosodium, Jun 25, 2007 IP
  7. Jaxta

    Jaxta Peon

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    On one of our sites - PR6, 250k pages we do it once a week as about 10% of the site changes in that time.

    I believe it's a waste of time but we've got nothing to hide so do it anyway. As much as anything, the sitemap generator ensures the site is crawlable.
     
    Jaxta, Jun 26, 2007 IP
  8. jMike

    jMike Guest

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Is it better to make the "LastModified" date for today even for the pages that didn't change? or should it be as it changed: only the pages that were added/changed will show the current date?
     
    jMike, Jun 26, 2007 IP
  9. Shinoda

    Shinoda Peon

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    for a year :D
     
    Shinoda, Jun 26, 2007 IP
  10. monosodium

    monosodium Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    100
    #10
    i wouldn't try to fool google dude, the last mod date is retrieved when the site is crawled.
     
    monosodium, Jun 27, 2007 IP
  11. fefifofum

    fefifofum Peon

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    I have a site that is very dynamic and large, with constantly updated user content. I took the sitemap off because I couldn't find a tool to create a sitemap for all the pages. What does everybody here use?
     
    fefifofum, Jun 28, 2007 IP
  12. parveen121

    parveen121 Peon

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    in the sitemap.xml itself we will specify the frequency of the page that is being updated
     
    parveen121, Jun 28, 2007 IP
  13. monosodium

    monosodium Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    100
    #13
    looks like you have a major headache :) i guess your main issue is how to add new URL's to the sitemaps without too much delay. the scripts you want to use for updating your sitemaps depends on what you are using to drive your site...
     
    monosodium, Jun 29, 2007 IP
  14. celebs101

    celebs101 Peon

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    i've made the sitemap dynamic so everytiem Google tries to fetch the sitemap.asp file it generates teh sitemap in teh real-time of all the URL's.. i guess Google fetches the sitemap two - three times a week! or maybe because my sitemap.asp returns last-modificed date as the same date as it's been requested on.
     
    celebs101, Jun 30, 2007 IP
  15. BurgerBoy

    BurgerBoy Peon

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    I used to not have a site map and google was on my sites and crawled them every day.

    I added a site map and google disappeared from the sites.

    I removed the site maps and now google crawls the sites everyday again .

    The site maps hurt me. I do much better without them.
     
    BurgerBoy, Jun 30, 2007 IP
  16. Brandon Sheley

    Brandon Sheley Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    9,719
    Likes Received:
    609
    Best Answers:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    420
    #16
    I update mine once a day.
    pr5
     
    Brandon Sheley, Jun 30, 2007 IP
  17. Aragorn

    Aragorn Peon

    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    72
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    I had created a sitemap a few months back. I resubmit it occassionally and remove it after a few days. Believe it or not, I have experienced an increase in traffic whenver I remove the sitemap.
     
    Aragorn, Jul 2, 2007 IP
  18. permaximum

    permaximum Peon

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    Sitemaps are exactly useless.Remove them and u will see your indexes are improving in search results....
     
    permaximum, Jul 13, 2007 IP
  19. iphits

    iphits Peon

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    I have my dynamically set to change daily. It seems to help to have data feeds if you really don't update your content daily.
     
    iphits, Jul 15, 2007 IP
  20. Geoffrey

    Geoffrey Banned

    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    I'm not sure if vBulletin is automatic or not, but:
    * If it is then It updates automatically
    * If not then it never has been updated, and I won't for ages.

    Being vBulletin I'm guessing that it will.
     
    Geoffrey, Jul 15, 2007 IP