1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How much traffic do I need for AdSense?

Discussion in 'Guidelines / Compliance' started by kay, Jun 2, 2004.

  1. #1
    Hi everyone.. this is my first post :)

    I look after a couple of sites that I think would work really well with AdSense. What I'd really like to know though, is just how much traffic should the site have before I consider applying?

    Thanks in advance!
    SEMrush
     
    kay, Jun 2, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #2
    I don't think there is any set amount of traffic you need.
     
    digitalpoint, Jun 2, 2004 IP
  3. hexed

    hexed Peon

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    There are no traffic limits. But if you have about 500-1000 visitors a day with good content, you would probably be looking about about $5-$10/day in profits.

    Hexed
     
    hexed, Jun 2, 2004 IP
  4. disgust

    disgust Guest

    Messages:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    133
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    it can vary so, so very much.

    with my site stats, someone estimated that I'd be making, well, a LOT of money- this was using fairly conservative numbers. with a 2% CTR and $.20 a click I should be making well over 150$ a day.

    I'm closer to making that a month.

    I KNOW there are sites that get one tenth the traffic we get and still make more money. traffic isn't everything, it's just one of three major factors (the other being your click through rate and your earnings per click)
     
    disgust, Jun 2, 2004 IP
  5. kay

    kay Peon

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Thanks guys, one of the sites gets around 500 uniques a day, so I'll probably apply for that one. If it makes enough to get me a check every quarter or so I'll be happy enough with that!
     
    kay, Jun 3, 2004 IP
  6. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,731
    Likes Received:
    528
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    After you get approved for Adsense you can use your Adsense code on any of your sites...assuming they are not in violation of the Adsense TOS.
     
    GuyFromChicago, Jun 3, 2004 IP
  7. misohoni

    misohoni Notable Member

    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    32
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    200
    #7
    Can you do that? I thought they each have to be approved?
     
    misohoni, Jun 4, 2004 IP
  8. NewComputer

    NewComputer Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,021
    Likes Received:
    68
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    188
    #8
    My understanding, and it comes from here, is that you can use your adsense code on any page that you would be considered a webmaster for. I think here, we have deferred our webmastery to DP for the purpose of using our code on these pages. Please correct me if I am wrong.
     
    NewComputer, Jun 4, 2004 IP
  9. Bernard

    Bernard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    107
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    185
    #9
    Once approved, you can paste your AdSense code anywhere you like as long as it is consistent with the TOS. You only need to provide Google one site for reference with your initial application.
     
    Bernard, Jun 4, 2004 IP
  10. Weirfire

    Weirfire Language Translation Company

    Messages:
    6,979
    Likes Received:
    365
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    280
    #10
    I think I will apply for that as well.

    Does google decide what adverts will go on your site or do you have a choice?
     
    Weirfire, Jun 4, 2004 IP
  11. Bernard

    Bernard Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    107
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    185
    #11
    The adverts are targeted to the subject matter/keywords of the page you place the code on. It is done by a computer algorithm - not a human. You can block up to 200 specific ads/sites from showing too.
     
    Bernard, Jun 4, 2004 IP
  12. misohoni

    misohoni Notable Member

    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    32
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    200
    #12
    So I could give my Google Adsense code to a friend to place on his site? Cool...
     
    misohoni, Jun 4, 2004 IP
  13. cobaltlady

    cobaltlady Peon

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    I'm not so sure about giving your code to a friend. Not a good idea plus might violate TOS. I believe you need to be webmaster.
     
    cobaltlady, Jun 4, 2004 IP
  14. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,731
    Likes Received:
    528
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    I suppose you could, but if your friend does something on his or her site that violates Google's Adsense TOS your account would be shut down.
     
    GuyFromChicago, Jun 5, 2004 IP
  15. Foxy

    Foxy Chief Natural Foodie

    Messages:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    48
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    I would definitely not do that!

    On your own sites, like we do, no problem as everybody else has said, and, if you place them well you can do some good numbers, but do not give away your control.
     
    Foxy, Jun 5, 2004 IP
  16. Staring

    Staring Guest

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    You need to be approved for each and every domain name that you host for adsense, websites need to be checked separately before being accepted. You can't copy your adsense code for one website onto all of your other websites. You will be violating TOS.

    It amazes me how many people on these forums do not read their contracts properly before agreeing to sign up. One day you'll sign your souls away for sure!

    PS: If you are not too sure about any answer go directly to the 'source', look up Adsense in google for its FAQs. Don't always rely on forums for correct answers - when the source to anything is easily available. - Thats lazy! :confused:
     
    Staring, Aug 9, 2004 IP
  17. khudania

    khudania Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #17
    Have you noticed, the ads changes from page to page. I am not sure how this is happening.
    :confused:
    <a href="http://our.affiliatetracking.net/wordtracker/a/11395">Wordtracker</a>
     
    khudania, Aug 9, 2004 IP
  18. Foxy

    Foxy Chief Natural Foodie

    Messages:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    48
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    Actually I don't think that is quite right.

    The TOS says:

    That means you hold one account only for your sites - NB Multiple accounts are not permitted - and that you "designate" your sites. No prior approval is stated here.

    And later:

    That means that if you have site(s) that you own that are part and parcel as trading names of your company then the agreement that is with you (your company) covers all. That right is non transferable to sites that you might manage, for example, or if you were to sell on the site (business) the agreement does not transfer.

    It also means they come around and inspect when they want - it is not a prior condition.

    Having said that I'm pretty sure the initial site we did had to have approval.

    :)
     
    Foxy, Aug 9, 2004 IP
  19. Will.Spencer

    Will.Spencer NetBuilder

    Messages:
    14,789
    Likes Received:
    1,040
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    375
    #19
    Well, I put my AdSense code on the Digital Point Forum... :D
     
    Will.Spencer, Aug 9, 2004 IP
  20. Help Desk

    Help Desk Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    25
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    180
    #20
    Your site looks very professional, however where are the AdSense ads? If you put them inline with the content you would have crazy results!
     
    Help Desk, Aug 9, 2004 IP