I remember hearing somewhere that the more (adsense) ad units you had per page, the lower your ecpm and rev... how does that work? do you get the best...hightest paying ad if you have only one ad unit?
I had 3 units on my home page - 1 link, 1 box and 1 tower. I removed the link and 1 box and my CPM rose slightly. Now it's hovering at $x.xx.
Removing the lower paying ad units will increase your total ECPM because your best placed ads will get a higher CTR. But this doesn't neccesarilly mean revenue will increase. The only reason I could see why revenue would increase is because instead of visitors clicking on the lower paying ads they will click the higher paying ones. CPM isn't a very good measure, as increasing it can decrease your total revenue.
My revenue has certainly increased since I strated removing ad units. Now I always have one link unit at the top of each page and, depending on the size of the page, 1-2 blocks of text ads.
A couple of things happen if you reduce the number of ad blocks on a page: 1. Your ad impressions drop. Ex: If you had 2 ad blocks on each page with 10 page views: you would have 20 ad impressions. If you only leave one ad block on each page, the ad impressions drop. 2. Google serves the higher paying ads to your site as it is now serving only half the ads to you. Some webmasters believe that this can improve your eCPM and CTR and earnings. This is how: 1. You are now getting higher paying ads. 2. Assuming you usually got 1 click from this and assuming this doesn't change once you halve the number of ad blocks your previous CTR was 5% (1 click for 20 impressions). Your new CTR is 10% (1 click for 10 impressions). 3. Assuming that the above is correct, you don't get any more clicks BUT since Google is serving better ads to you it might increase your revenue (payment per click) Having said that, I think this will vary for different sites. If you don't have a lot of content on your web page only place one ad. Or even none: Imo it's better not to have ads running on a web page than irrelevant ads. On the other hand, if you have a web page that has heaps of content and users need to scroll through 3 pages to get to the bottom, have 3 ad blocks placed in different parts of the page such that one ad block is always visible to the user. Hope this helps! dfsweb
What math are you using to figure that? If my CPM is $2.00 and my traffic is 60,000 impressions, that's $2.00x60 = $120. But if the CPM decreases so does your revenue. Which is why I don't understand why the CPM decreases with higher traffic. Something's not right.
Effective CPM - Cost per 1000 impressions. From a publisher's perspective, CPM is a useful way to compare revenue across different channels and advertising programs. It is calculated by dividing total earnings by the number of impressions in thousands. For example, if a publisher earned $180 from 45,000 impressions, the CPM would equal $180/45, or $4.00.