1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How I got into Yahoo within 48 hours for $0!!

Discussion in 'Yahoo' started by AMKiller, Jan 5, 2005.

  1. YoungSmeagol

    YoungSmeagol Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #121
    Well I wrote before that it didn't work any more but, It seems like sometimes it works and sometimes it does not. Last time I did it It did not work for me.

    Anyway in short:

    Make a blog on blogger.com.
    Put live links up on your blog to pages you want indexed.
    Make your links Live: <p><a href="http://" target="_blank">Name your link</a></p>
    SEMrush
    Oh and I forgot you have to add the content to my yahoo.

    Go to Pingomatic.com:ping All of the ping sites.

    I think he probably took the article down because he probably didn't get the SEO benefit that he was looking for from it.
     
    YoungSmeagol, Jun 17, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Mixposure

    Mixposure Peon

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #122
    Thanks,

    Well, I created a blog on blogger, pinged via pingomatic, then went to Yahoo and chose Add content. I then chose add RSS by URL and put in this:
    http://mixposure.blogspot.com/atom.xml

    And it shows the title but gives this message:
    Preview not available. Add this content to your page to see it.

    I click on the Add To My Yahoo button on the same page and it just refreshes the same page. I still have no RSS feed showing on MyYahoo.

    Any idea what I might be doing wrong?
     
    Mixposure, Jun 17, 2005 IP
  3. nevetS

    nevetS Evolving Dragon

    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    211
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #123
    Actually, I don't think it was a blogger blog before. I think he just started using the site for what it was originally intended for.

    Follow your own link. It's not an atom feed.

    OK. Nevermind that comment. If you go to it with a browser, it displays a formatted page. Viewing source it actually shows the XML. You may want to validate the xml, and barring that, try maybe an rss feed. Yahoo's atom support is experimental. Also, there is only one article in the feed and that may be a problem.
     
    nevetS, Jun 17, 2005 IP
  4. Mixposure

    Mixposure Peon

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #124
    Thanks, I really appreciate it. I suppose I could add another article but I don't know how to validate the XML.

    The original blog has a photo, could that be the problem?

    It looks like a lot of other members went the same route I did without a hitch. I'm guessing it has to be something specific to my blog.

    I'll try removing the photo and adding another article and let you know how it goes.

    It looks like I may have missed the boat anyway but I've gone too far to turn back now. I rank well on MSN and Google, and have over 20k backlinks in Yahoo, but have never been indexed for any search terms there. My site is about 6-7 months old, do you feel that is standard issue? I'm very curious to see where my placement will be when and if I ever get in the door.
     
    Mixposure, Jun 17, 2005 IP
  5. Mixposure

    Mixposure Peon

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #125
    Well, I attempted the above and it didn't work so I used this utility to convert:
    http://www.feedburner.com

    ..and it seems to have done the trick. It now shows both articles.

    Thanks so much for heading me in the right direction.

    Sorry for being a blog and RSS newb, but out of curiousity; is having a blog good for SEO? I did the pingomatic and it looks like it submitted it to several feeds. It would make sense that these would eventually tally up as backlinks to my site. Is that correct? If so, is there a good strategy to implement?
     
    Mixposure, Jun 18, 2005 IP
  6. nevetS

    nevetS Evolving Dragon

    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    211
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #126
    Yes and no. Most of the feed sites aren't going to pass on much "weight" link wise to you since they literally have thousands of outbound links. There is a definite benefit though. The best thing is to update your blog or feed regularly and ping ping-o-matic (it handles pretty much all the major pinging sites). Don't post two articles within an hour. Most of the sites will ignore multiple pings.

    Additionally, go to syndic8 and manually add your rss feed. Sometimes the pings don't get it in there. Do the same with other sites you are pinging.
     
    nevetS, Jun 18, 2005 IP
  7. Mixposure

    Mixposure Peon

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #127
    Hat's off sir, thanks for the advice. :)
     
    Mixposure, Jun 18, 2005 IP
  8. Affiliate-Geek

    Affiliate-Geek Active Member

    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #128
    Great work. Well documented...
     
    Affiliate-Geek, Jun 22, 2005 IP
  9. Doppy

    Doppy Peon

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #129
    Excellent advice on this thread. Thanks much!
     
    Doppy, Jul 3, 2005 IP
  10. DirectoryForce

    DirectoryForce Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #130
    does it only index the index page or the whole site?
     
    DirectoryForce, Jul 4, 2005 IP
  11. PinoyIto

    PinoyIto Notable Member

    Messages:
    5,863
    Likes Received:
    170
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    260
    #131
    on my experience, it is better to put a link to individual pages of your site for faster result.

    This may take from 1 hours to 1 week, it depends on the schedule of the both I guess. You should update regularly your blog atleast once a day for better result
     
    PinoyIto, Jul 4, 2005 IP
  12. isaiasd2003

    isaiasd2003 Guest

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #132
    man! thats a boatload of visitors! how'd this happen?!
     
    isaiasd2003, Jul 4, 2005 IP
  13. chrisranjana.com

    chrisranjana.com Active Member

    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #133
    Will try and let you know the results
     
    chrisranjana.com, Jul 13, 2005 IP
  14. elavenil

    elavenil Peon

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #134
    thanks for your tips , i will try with blog
     
    elavenil, Jul 13, 2005 IP
  15. mikemike

    mikemike Peon

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #135
    I believe this is the step by step instructions.

    perfect-party-ideas.blogspot.com/2005_01_11_perfect-party-ideas_archive.html
     
    mikemike, Jul 14, 2005 IP
  16. coolguy

    coolguy Peon

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #136
    Good info on this link. I'll try.
     
    coolguy, Jul 15, 2005 IP
  17. Fred

    Fred Peon

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #137
    I would love to put RSS feeds on my pages, but I have no experience with blogs. I recently installed Wordpress on one of my best sites, but I cannot figure out how to get it to add a simple RSS feed to my pages.

    Wordpress has a comprehensive tutorial site, but I haven't yet found any simple instructions there how to use Wordpress to add an RSS xml news feed to the desired location of my page via <%....xml%> tag in my page code where I wish to have the blog appear.
     
    Fred, Jul 16, 2005 IP
  18. Nintendo

    Nintendo ♬ King of da Wackos ♬

    Messages:
    12,890
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    430
    #138
    Down at the very bottom of your page you should see a link to the RSS page. index.php?feed=rss2

    I started a WordPress news site early this week, did the MyYahoo and ping trick, and nothing has been indexed.
     
    Nintendo, Jul 16, 2005 IP
  19. Canadianbacon

    Canadianbacon Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    76
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Articles:
    1
    #139
    i'll give it a go as well
     
    Canadianbacon, Jul 16, 2005 IP
  20. Nintendo

    Nintendo ♬ King of da Wackos ♬

    Messages:
    12,890
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    430
    #140
    Just got in. It took nine days.
     
    Nintendo, Jul 20, 2005 IP