1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How do you properly center a page with CSS???

Discussion in 'CSS' started by Security Camera Warehouse, Jan 1, 2009.

Hello all,

I am new to this network. After a long struggle with CSS I have finally broke down and come to seek insight and help on a big problem I have been trying to fix.

I have Googled, and read and studied about CSS position and div control commands but I just cannot seem to get a handle on making my website look the same in all browsers. I know some of these browsers have so called bugs, but I have a testing page, where I made everything almost perfect.

The big problem is I cannot stop the web-page from loading the site to the right and having a scroll bar on the bottom, just to see the full site when it loads.

The link is www dot security-camera-warehouse dot com . /testing/
    If there is any expert that can point me in the right direction or do a small audit on this page, then I can start studying the right material. Thanks a bunch

-Chad B-

2. markupdude

markupdude Peon

Best Answers:
    Its the Positions!! Seriously as your design is pretty much straightforward you don't have to apply position:absolute; to place elements in their correct locations.

Do these:

[1st] - Remove all the position:absolute; properties from the blocks.

[2nd] Cover all your code within <body></body> inside a Main Block, like this :

<body>
    	<div class="main">		<!-- Main Container Starts -->

<!-- 	All Your Code Goes Here -->

</div>			<!-- Main Container Ends -->
    </body>

Code (markup):
    [3rd] - Add this CSS style to that 'main' class like this :

.main { margin:0 auto; width:AsYouWish; }
    Code (markup):