1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How Do You Create A Second Wordpress Blog?

Discussion in 'WordPress' started by Digital Noise, Apr 14, 2008.

  1. #1
    I have been trying to figure out how to have a second blog on my blog (wordpress) without having to install multi-user. I've read that you can create a page that filters certain categories to make it look like a second blog. However, for the life of me I cannot figure out. I've gone to wordpress.org but they are no help. Does anyone have any ideas?
    SEMrush
     
    Digital Noise, Apr 14, 2008 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Digital Noise

    Digital Noise Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #2
    Does anyone have some suggestions?
     
    Digital Noise, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  3. LittleJonSupportSite

    LittleJonSupportSite Peon

    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    20
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Why not just use .htaccess and mod_rewrite.

    Send them over to another wordpress blog that exists on the same site and just mod_rewrite it?
     
    LittleJonSupportSite, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  4. Digital Noise

    Digital Noise Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #4
    Truthfully, I don't know if I am that technically savvy. There has to be a way that doesn't require changing the server or hacking wordpress. At least, I hope there is!!!
     
    Digital Noise, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  5. Edynas

    Edynas Peon

    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Can you explain a bit more about what you have in mind because it's not completely clear.
    Without some serious hacking you can not have two blogs in the same directory..(it's not impossible) but you can setup multipal blogs using different directories or subdirectories
     
    Edynas, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  6. Digital Noise

    Digital Noise Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #6
    @edynas: My blog is still in the stagging phase or I would give a link. However, in essence what I am trying to do is have a static page as my home page. Then I have my main blog posts pointing to a page called "Blog." I want to have another page (that is part of the top navigation) with the title, "News" which is all the blog post that fall under the different categories of N"news," "updates," and "ideas."

    I don't want to have to create another blog in order to have a second page as a blog. Any suggestions would be very welcomed!
     
    Digital Noise, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  7. amanamission

    amanamission Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,936
    Likes Received:
    138
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #7
    So you want www.yoursite.com to be static, yoursite.com/blog to be your general posts, and yoursite.com/news to be news items.
    If you don't need to change the theme between pages, you can do this:
    yoursite.com/blog/category/news
    with "categorykiller plugin" you can remove the "category" and set up your blog to be

    yoursite.com/blog/news-ideas/post
    yoursite.com/blog/news-updates/post
    Does that work?
     
    amanamission, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  8. Edynas

    Edynas Peon

    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    You can create a static homepage by making a file called home.php in your theme you are using. It does not have to have any wordpress code in it if you don't want it. So you decide the look of that homepage.

    Next you can have a category news and blog and under blog put all the other categories and use the plugin metioned by amanamission which you can find here http://www.brianshoff.com/wordpress/category-base-removal-plugin.htm

    In the header of your pages set the links for the homepage, newscategory and the blog "category" and that way you can put all in one install
     
    Edynas, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  9. Digital Noise

    Digital Noise Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #9
    @amanamission & @Edynas: Thanks, that looks like a viable solution.

    Here's my next my question. By using your suggestion it seems that I need to hard code my navigation, instead of allowing wordpress to create my top navigation whenever I create a new page. Is there a way to point this page to the category page and not have to hard code it?
     
    Digital Noise, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  10. Edynas

    Edynas Peon

    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    In the code that wordpress uses to list pages you can exclude and include pages (see http://codex.wordpress.org/Template_Tags/wp_list_pages ) the same goes for categories.

    I assume you will have several categories which fall under the blog and just one category news and no subs there.

    Having a standard installation your categories will look like this
    category 1 : news (renamed the default uncategoriesed category)
    category 2 : blogroll (since 2.3 it's a category don't ask me why)
    category 3: blog you added this etcetc
    category 4 : a sub under blog

    The navigation could look a bit like this
    
    <ul>
    <li>link for homepage</li>
    <li>link for newspage</li>
    <ul>
    <?php wp_list_categories('orderby=name&child_of=3'); ?>
    </ul>
    
    
    Code (markup):
    That way you don't have to hardcode all of it and let wordpress make the navigation for all the subcategories
     
    Edynas, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  11. od3n

    od3n Active Member

    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    14
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #11
    agreed with Edynas!!
     
    od3n, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  12. Digital Noise

    Digital Noise Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #12
    @Edynas: I thought of this, but I wanted the newspage to be at the end, but I wonder if I move the newspage code past the php code if I can still accomplish this. I will give it a try. Again, I really appreciate your input.
     
    Digital Noise, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  13. Digital Noise

    Digital Noise Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #13
    I just tried this solution:

    With the plugin suggested by amanamission I could create category that the news section could point to. I also was able to put news at the end of the navigation by placing it after the php code. Works like a charm!!! Thanks again for all your help DP membs! I've been trying to find a solution for this for weeks.
     
    Digital Noise, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  14. amanamission

    amanamission Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,936
    Likes Received:
    138
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #14
    You can put the php command to query posts or categories and list them in order on you page.

    I believe that the code to query categories something like
    <?php wp_list_categories; ?>
    (I have placed this code in the top nav bar of one of my themes and it displays the categories. I change nothing. When I add a category, it shows up.)

    Look in your theme code for exact php for categories or posts if this does not work.
     
    amanamission, Apr 15, 2008 IP
  15. Digital Noise

    Digital Noise Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #15
    @amanamission: Thanks!
     
    Digital Noise, Apr 15, 2008 IP