1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How do taxes for Adsense work?

Discussion in 'Payments' started by kelp, Jan 15, 2006.

I'm a student in high school, but I want to make a little cash on the side so I signed up for Adsense under my parent's name since you have to be over 18. Well, since I'm so young, I barely know anything about taxes, so what exactly would my parents have to pay, and will they get a letter in the mail saying X amount of money is due to claim your adsense money?

Or should I just uncomplicate everything and wait two years, and then sign up for adsense? I'm rearing to make some cash, though.

kelp, Jan 15, 2006 IP
  2. adsensepages

adsensepages Guest

Best Answers:
    Wait two years to make some cash? Two years of internet experience is a value you can't pay for.

I'd speak to your parents and ask them...

adsensepages, Jan 15, 2006 IP
  3. kelp

kelp Peon

Best Answers:
    Actually, my parents don't trust me enough to give me their SS Number, but my brother in college said he'd let me use his name. He doesn't really know what he has to do with the taxes since he's never filled out any tax paperwork before.

kelp, Jan 15, 2006 IP
  4. Seiya

Seiya Peon

Best Answers:
    Its a big pain in the ass but if you arent much you shouldnt worry about it. If you are making a significant amount then ask your parents for guidance...

Seiya, Jan 15, 2006 IP
  5. jim

jim Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    Assuming you're American, H&R Block puts my adsense earnings on schedule C. I think it says if you earn less than a certain amount you don't have to report the business earnings. That amount might be 400.00 but I don't remember.

jim, Jan 18, 2006 IP
  6. marketing