1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How do I refresh DNS cache?

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by Dannyboyonline, Mar 2, 2008.

  1. #1
    Hi I've got a slight problem, I just changed the DNS servers on my Domain name.

    It's been a couple of hours and my computer still loads the website (most probably cached)
    SEMrush
    I've tried using proxies to see what would happen (The DNS resolves properly using a proxy)

    How do I refresh the DNS cache on my computer/internet connection.
     
    Dannyboyonline, Mar 2, 2008 IP
    SEMrush
  2. bogart

    bogart Notable Member

    Messages:
    10,911
    Likes Received:
    509
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    235
    #2
    In the dos command prompt use the following

    ipconfig/flushdns
    Code (markup):
     
    bogart, Mar 2, 2008 IP
  3. Camay123

    Camay123 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,423
    Likes Received:
    86
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    160
    #3
    In execute type cmd

    then execute this command:

    ipconfig /flushdns

    If it doesnt work, delete temporary internet files
     
    Camay123, Mar 2, 2008 IP
  4. Dannyboyonline

    Dannyboyonline Active Member

    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #4
    DNS flushed - I'm still getting the same website I had before.

    I deleted all the files
     
    Dannyboyonline, Mar 2, 2008 IP
  5. pipsbank

    pipsbank Banned

    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    21
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    --> Click "start"
    Click "run" and type "cmd"

    in the page just type : ipconfig/flushdns

    or if nothing change then wait until 72hours after you have changed the dns, sometimes the ISP dns cache is not change yet
     
    pipsbank, Mar 2, 2008 IP
  6. Dannyboyonline

    Dannyboyonline Active Member

    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #6
    That's what I though pipsbank, I think it's something to do with my ISP's cache.
     
    Dannyboyonline, Mar 2, 2008 IP
  7. varkeytech

    varkeytech Banned

    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    varkeytech, Mar 3, 2008 IP
  8. dharmesh

    dharmesh Peon

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    ipconfig /flushdns is command to flush the dns. this will help you out
     
    dharmesh, Mar 6, 2008 IP
  9. eoveru

    eoveru Banned

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    DNS can take up to 48 Hours to propagate on your ISP's internet servers this could be why you are not seeing it but can through a proxy.
     
    eoveru, Mar 6, 2008 IP
  10. abdussamad

    abdussamad Active Member

    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #10
    abdussamad, Mar 6, 2008 IP
  11. RectangleMan

    RectangleMan Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    131
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    210
    #11
    You can alternatively set your HOSTS file to the proper DNS until your ISP refreshes the dns for you. At least you can still work on your site and make sure it's running properly.
     
    RectangleMan, Mar 6, 2008 IP
  12. manuel1201

    manuel1201 Peon

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    i;'m having the same problem, just tried the cmd thing didnt work any more ideas??? like he said with proxy server it works fine....
     
    manuel1201, Aug 27, 2008 IP
  13. turbulence

    turbulence Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    59
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    138
    #13
    The TTL (time to live) timer ensure that the DNS cache expires quickly and always stays fresh.

    The TTL's value instructs the DNS caching resolvers to expire and discard the DNS records after TTL seconds.

    If your TTL does not have a low value then the expiration and refreshing of DNS record will take some time.
     
    turbulence, Aug 27, 2008 IP
  14. manuel1201

    manuel1201 Peon

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    but this has never happend, i was on my web hosting companies site, logged off about an hour later went and it was timed out, any ideas???????? i cleard my dsn, on other computers it loads, any more ideas???? firefox and internet exploror wont work but the sit eloads fine with proxy server.
     
    manuel1201, Aug 27, 2008 IP
  15. maestria

    maestria Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #15
    Change add the domain name and the ip address in hosts file in case you are on a windows machine or /etc/hosts in case you are using a linux machine.
    In that case, either your isp is not able to resolve the address, or the dns has not yet propogated to your area.
     
    maestria, Aug 28, 2008 IP
  16. manuel1201

    manuel1201 Peon

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    I did but that didnt work, finally what it was was my WIRELESS router for some reason was blocking certain pages, so i redet it... thanks for your help
     
    manuel1201, Aug 29, 2008 IP
  17. henry_nguyen

    henry_nguyen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    130
    #17
    C:\Users\MK>ipconfig/flushdns
    The requested operation requires elevation.

    what is this means?
     
    henry_nguyen, Oct 20, 2009 IP
  18. andybush

    andybush Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    35
    #18
    I think you guys talking about different things. As I understand he changed the DNS for his domain name in the Domain CP but it still seems to point to former IP. In this case you dont need to do anything just wait for propogation.
     
    andybush, Oct 29, 2009 IP
  19. WFgirls

    WFgirls Peon

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    In execute type cmd

    then execute this command:

    ipconfig /flushdns
     
    WFgirls, Jan 14, 2012 IP
  20. digitalrights

    digitalrights Peon

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    This is the best solution so far. I have looked all over google and this is the answer you need!
     
    digitalrights, Nov 15, 2012 IP