1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

how do i get IIS 6 to work with ASP?

Discussion in 'C#' started by leeman101, Aug 4, 2008.

  1. #1
    I had IIS 7 that came with Vista, and had everything working for ASP, but one day all of a sudden IIS 7 wasnt there anymore.. only IIS 6 was. and now i can't get asp to work with IIS 6. I have searched the internt and tried numerous things and cant figure it out. any suggestions? thanks.
    SEMrush
     
    leeman101, Aug 4, 2008 IP
    SEMrush
  2. chrisn

    chrisn Peon

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Best solution would be to reinstall II7.

    Use the Programs & Features in control panel. then the Turn Windows Features on or off and then add Interney Information Services.

    Or if it is checked remove it, then restart then reinstall.

    I think by default IIS6 is only installed for the FTP service.
     
    chrisn, Aug 5, 2008 IP
  3. leeman101

    leeman101 Peon

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    thanks, i will try that in a little bit.
     
    leeman101, Aug 5, 2008 IP
  4. Social.Network

    Social.Network Member

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    15
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    35
    #4
    IIS 7.0 is a component of Windows Server 2008 and Vista. Why do you believe you have IIS 6.0?
     
    Social.Network, Aug 7, 2008 IP
  5. leeman101

    leeman101 Peon

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Version 6.0 is what my IIS says now. Not sure why. I had IIS 7.0 before for quite a while and it worked fine..

    but anyway... i was out of town on my laptop on a family members network in reno.. the guy had it set up in a weird way.. anyway.. i think it had to do with the IP settings. once i came back home it worked fine.
     
    leeman101, Aug 10, 2008 IP
  6. vihutuo

    vihutuo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    34
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    130
    #6
    As far as I remember you have to do nothing to for asp to run on IIS 6 .
     
    vihutuo, Aug 11, 2008 IP
  7. engager

    engager Peon

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    May be there are some problems with .NET Framework?
     
    engager, Aug 14, 2008 IP
  8. Packer

    Packer Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    #8
    which .NET framework are you using??
     
    Packer, Aug 18, 2008 IP
  9. Social.Network

    Social.Network Member

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    15
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    35
    #9
    Why are members still responding to this thread? The issue has been resolved, read the posts.
     
    Social.Network, Aug 18, 2008 IP
  10. Free Born John

    Free Born John Guest

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    If my IIS7 reverted to 6 I'd be one happy bunny. I can't find a thing in 7 and dislike it even more than I do Vista.
     
    Free Born John, Aug 19, 2008 IP
  11. dylanj

    dylanj Peon

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    In Vista, there are two IIS managers. One is version 6, and one is version 7. Make sure you're opening the right one...
     
    dylanj, Aug 20, 2008 IP