1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How can I extract an SQL Database file?

Discussion in 'MySQL' started by gauharjk, Nov 2, 2007.

I have an SQL database file, having size 1.15GB.

It has 2,77,000+ Master Resale PLR articles.

I am new to SQL, and don't know much about it. So I am requesting help to fellow DP members.

Is it possible to extract this single file? Maybe some software?

Or do i have to upload 1.15GB file to my server and do something online?

Please help...

gauharjk, Nov 2, 2007 IP
  2. briansol

briansol Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    "SQL database file" doesn't tell us much. you can export records into just about anything from full command line (INSERT INTO TABLE blah;) to CSV, to TSV, or jsut about anything else.

you can most likely just open it in a text editor though....

briansol, Nov 3, 2007 IP
  3. nikko999

nikko999 Peon

Best Answers:
    I assume that your SQL database is in .rar/.zip/.tar format and you're trying to extract it and insert it to a database.

You can just upload it to your server(1.15 GB is a big piece of crap, be sure you've a good connection and make sure your computer is not going to freeze anytime or else you'll regret :p) and tell your host to do it by telling them to extract it and insert to the database you intended to.

If you're using direct admin your backup file will probably appears without any extension. Same as above, upload, tell your host to do the dirty work.

nikko999, Nov 3, 2007 IP
  4. Kuldeep1952

Kuldeep1952 Active Member

Best Answers:
    gauharjk - a 1 GB file has to be handled carefully. You cannot open
    it with a text editor. If you have to use the full content on the server,