1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

help me in asp.net

Discussion in 'C#' started by bhuppi890109, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. #1
    hi frnds. . I m making a signup webpage. . Bt i m not able to use the validation with the querey. .when i click on signup button page executes without the validation. . .can anybody tel me how cn i make the signup page with al the validation needed in vs 2008 and sql 2000 in asp.net
    SEMrush
     
    bhuppi890109, Aug 9, 2010 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Xyle83

    Xyle83 Peon

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    There is a video about this in www dot asp dot net/general/videos (hmm can post links yet?) :( . But my first guess to solve the problem would be to put both controls in the same validation groupd
     
    Xyle83, Aug 11, 2010 IP
  3. nagarajang

    nagarajang Peon

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    you can try jquery validation.js, it would be much more easier.....
     
    nagarajang, Aug 11, 2010 IP
  4. nagarajang

    nagarajang Peon

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    jquery is simple javascript funtion that you straight away add to your page..

    first add jquery plugin (jquery.min.js) file and then add jquery.validate.js file.

    for more details browse jquery.com
     
    nagarajang, Aug 12, 2010 IP
  5. nagarajang

    nagarajang Peon

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    see example
    <script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script src="http://ajax.microsoft.com/ajax/jquery.validate/1.7/jquery.validate.min.js " type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" language="javascript">

    jQuery(document).ready(function() {
    jQuery('#your-form-id').validate();

    });
    </script>

    paste the above in your head section.
     
    nagarajang, Aug 12, 2010 IP
  6. Xyle83

    Xyle83 Peon

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    If you go with the jquery approach, dont forget to do the server side validation.
     
    Xyle83, Aug 12, 2010 IP
  7. camjohnson95

    camjohnson95 Active Member

    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #7
    Whether you do javascript validation or not, the fields still need to be validated on the server. I normally just code the validation without using .Net's validation controls. I'm not good with regular expressions so this is a much easier option.
    But if you are set on using the built-in validation post the code that you have.
     
    camjohnson95, Aug 12, 2010 IP
  8. bibinsmk

    bibinsmk Active Member

    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #8
    Most simple option for you is using the validation controls in .net itself. These very simple to use and this will also accurate.
     
    bibinsmk, Aug 13, 2010 IP
  9. seo-india

    seo-india Banned

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    #9
    Dear ! use validation controls for validation.
     
    seo-india, Aug 16, 2010 IP
  10. ARD

    ARD Peon

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    There are two types of options u can use.
    One is .NET validation controls. simply drag n drop and also u can customize there behavior. Second option is use javascript. jst google ot n u cn find lot of tutorials
     
    ARD, Aug 17, 2010 IP
  11. nagarajang

    nagarajang Peon

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Try to use required field validator from .net validation control. It would be much more easier than jquery because the browser can always block a java scripts.
     
    nagarajang, Aug 17, 2010 IP
  12. innovativeinfosolution

    innovativeinfosolution Peon

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    Hi friend,

    For ASP.Net,Jquery,Jawascript and Ajax related problems, You all can refer my Tech Blog.

    Programming Dept.
    Innovative Infosolutions
     
    innovativeinfosolution, Aug 17, 2010 IP
  13. camjohnson95

    camjohnson95 Active Member

    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #13
    Have you have set the ControlToValidate parameter? I'm sure you must have otherwise it would probably throw an error. e.g:
    
    <asp:RequiredFieldValidator ID="RequiredFieldValidator1" runat="server" ErrorMessage="* Enter name" [B]ControlToValidate="MyTextBox1"[/B] >
    
    Code (markup):
     
    camjohnson95, Aug 21, 2010 IP
  14. nagarajang

    nagarajang Peon

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    pls specify your code snippet......
     
    nagarajang, Aug 25, 2010 IP
  15. susasl

    susasl Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #15
    Here is the code snippet

    <asp:TextBox ID="textBoxTitle" runat="server" /><asp:RequiredFieldValidator ID="requiredFieldReason" runat="server" ErrorMessage="Required" ForeColor="Red" Display="Dynamic" ControlToValidate="textBoxTitle" />
     
    susasl, Aug 28, 2010 IP
  16. nagarajang

    nagarajang Peon

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    Does your signup page shows any error?
     
    nagarajang, Sep 2, 2010 IP
  17. juno.tiwari@gmail.com

    juno.tiwari@gmail.com Peon

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    I can do please send me details of page or

    if you want new page then reply to do this.
     
    juno.tiwari@gmail.com, Sep 3, 2010 IP
  18. kapil123

    kapil123 Peon

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    its easy dude.... first of all check ur system.data.sqlclient this is the command comes under the page of asp.cs... make sure that this must not be miss... u can use the validation control and some ajex tool kit also
     
    kapil123, Sep 5, 2010 IP
  19. kapil123

    kapil123 Peon

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    u can get help on microsoft dotnet site...
     
    kapil123, Sep 5, 2010 IP
  20. kapil123

    kapil123 Peon

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    if u face any problem send page to my id i can do..
     
    kapil123, Sep 5, 2010 IP