1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Google Webmaster not accepting my sitemap.xml

Discussion in 'Google Sitemaps' started by drew68, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. #1
    hi everyone...quick question...hopefully a quick resolve.

    i'm wondering why google webmaster is giving me an X error when i submit my sitemap.xml file. here's the error i'm getting.

    URL restricted by robots.txt
    We encountered an error while trying to access your Sitemap. Please ensure your Sitemap follows our guidelines and can be accessed at the location you provided and then resubmit.


    so it's saying the sitemap.xml is restricted by robots.txt, additionally, so is my index page. here's the other thing gw says...

    Googlebot is blocked from http://www.downtownlalaw.com/

    my robots.txt file has...

    User-agent: *
    Allow: /

    ...so what's the issue? i'm allowing googlebot to view all my pages.
     
    drew68, Jan 6, 2012 IP
  2. lencarifin

    lencarifin Active Member

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    #2
    perhaps, you should modify your sitemap.xml with another similar plugin, try it, i ever done with this
     
    lencarifin, Jan 6, 2012 IP
  3. drew68

    drew68 Active Member

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #3
    drew68, Jan 6, 2012 IP
  4. lencarifin

    lencarifin Active Member

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    #4
    If so, try to change the code of your robots.txt, or delete your robots.txt until your sitemap accepted by them
     
    lencarifin, Jan 6, 2012 IP
  5. drew68

    drew68 Active Member

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #5
    i deleted the robots.txt file from the main root of my server and then re-submitted the sitmap.xml link and still got that stupid X.

    i don't get it...why is this happening??
     
    drew68, Jan 6, 2012 IP
  6. drew68

    drew68 Active Member

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #6
    does someone know what's up with google webmasters or if i can even contact a google rep? i can't figure this out...

    robots.txt and sitemap.xml are all fine. not sure why it's giving me that X
     
    drew68, Jan 6, 2012 IP
  7. drew68

    drew68 Active Member

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #7
    anyone? someone has to know why gw is this way
     
    drew68, Jan 7, 2012 IP
  8. sunil4

    sunil4 Peon

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Try another plugin for generating sitemap
     
    sunil4, Jan 8, 2012 IP
  9. Sebastian Rockefeller

    Sebastian Rockefeller Greenhorn

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    #9
    Just try another program to create sitemap
     
    Sebastian Rockefeller, Jan 9, 2012 IP
  10. websitetools

    websitetools Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    24
    Best Answers:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #10
    websitetools, Jan 10, 2012 IP
  11. drew68

    drew68 Active Member

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #11
    thanks guys...it worked...google just took some time to update the sitemap i guess...thanks for your help everyone
     
    drew68, Jan 14, 2012 IP
  12. trishia

    trishia Peon

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    I gues its the code compatability. try to recode it in the sense that it coincide witht he plugins or the platforms your using.
     
    trishia, Jan 17, 2012 IP