1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Google use click rate to determine ranking?

Discussion in 'Google' started by zguoqi, May 31, 2005.

  1. #1
    zguoqi, May 31, 2005 IP
    newbie100 likes this.
    SEMrush
  2. dct

    dct Finder of cool gadgets

    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    328
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #2
    WTF is that site telling us, confused :confused:
     
    dct, May 31, 2005 IP
    newbie100 and Smyrl like this.
  3. Imran

    Imran Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,343
    Likes Received:
    191
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #3
    Cant understand anything in that site, please donot publish irrelavent sites here!
    That site does not look to be having anything relavent to google!
     
    Imran, May 31, 2005 IP
    NetMidWest and newbie100 like this.
  4. yfs1

    yfs1 User Title Not Found

    Messages:
    13,799
    Likes Received:
    922
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    There is no question they collect data but its a huge leap to say it is then used to determine ranking.

    They publicly state that they track clicks. I have only ever seen proof that this does not affect the SERPs, not the other way around.
     
    yfs1, May 31, 2005 IP
    newbie100 likes this.
  5. Dirkjan

    Dirkjan The Dutch SEO Guy

    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    21
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    138
    #5
    Lol.

    Its a Dutch Vitamin website? Hahaha..

    Google uses click behaviour in Adwords / Adsense. Not in normal results.
     
    Dirkjan, May 31, 2005 IP
  6. GreenWood

    GreenWood Peon

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    google for a long time traces cliques of users in delivery (serp)
    I collected the traffic from several sites and sent on one and it started to rise in serp
     
    GreenWood, May 31, 2005 IP
  7. NetMidWest

    NetMidWest Peon

    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    151
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Yes, I have seen it on some foreign language Google sites, and rarely on Google.com and english versions.

    It does seem to track clicks.

    It also blows the 302 redirect bug out, I think, but I do not have enough data.

    If I am correct, we should see it more here in North America.
     
    NetMidWest, May 31, 2005 IP
  8. dct

    dct Finder of cool gadgets

    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    328
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #8
    I've been neg reped for my last post in this thread, I've re-read the other replies and looked at the site again and still have no clue what this thread and site are about, could someone please educate a dumb blonde
     
    dct, May 31, 2005 IP
    killabyte, Crazy_Rob and onestop like this.
  9. NetMidWest

    NetMidWest Peon

    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    151
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    http ://www google.com/url?q=http://www.delphi-central.com/tutorials/

    redirects to your site. It shows up in the serps on some Google sites. The few times I have seen it (once for a page of my own) the use seemed to be internal for Google. In my case, I had the page dumped, and it came back as that url temporarily.

    Why it gets used... that's the question.

    I hit the url a few minutes ago. Look in your recent logs.

    If we knew you were blonde, we would've understood the confusion... :D
     
    NetMidWest, May 31, 2005 IP
  10. NetMidWest

    NetMidWest Peon

    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    151
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    I also got a visit through a /url?q= visit when I asked for an AdSense content check for a project I am working on. There is a thread in the adsense section:
    http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=16495
    but I did not want to hijack my own thread, and there have been few discussions directly on the topic.
     
    NetMidWest, May 31, 2005 IP
  11. Dejavu

    Dejavu Peon

    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    53
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Dejavu, May 31, 2005 IP
  12. dct

    dct Finder of cool gadgets

    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    328
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #12
    Thank you, that is much clearer now (honest).
     
    dct, May 31, 2005 IP
  13. zguoqi

    zguoqi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #13
    Sorry, too many people confused by this thread. I am sorry, I did not know that this site will shorten the url automatically.

    The URL I posted should be

    xxx.google.nl/url?sa=U&start=3&q=http://www.vitaminstore.nl/vitaminen/1522/Orthocel/&e=9707

    When you click this URL, it goes back to Google server, that is where Google log the click rate, then redirect user back to my real site.

    I have seen this kind of link some times, so that means Google replace a small % of the URL into trackable URL and log the click thru rate.

    I am afraid that will be used to determine the ranking. start=3, e=9707. not just the url is logged, its position and other things are logged as well....
     
    zguoqi, May 31, 2005 IP
  14. dct

    dct Finder of cool gadgets

    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    328
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #14
    That does clear it up even more, thanks zguoqi (how the hell do you pronounce that)
     
    dct, May 31, 2005 IP
  15. rustybrick

    rustybrick User ID 3

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    41
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    158
    #15
    The tracking URL is for UI purposes. They use it to make the UI better.

    They would not use it to rank web pages. The last engine that used click data to rank web pages was named Direct Hit. Most of you did not hear of it, because it was spammed to death with click wars and only served up irrelevant results.
     
    rustybrick, May 31, 2005 IP
  16. zguoqi

    zguoqi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #16
     
    zguoqi, May 31, 2005 IP
  17. rustybrick

    rustybrick User ID 3

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    41
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    158
    #17
    They are known to use toolbar data to index new sites, that is true.

    But I know they do not use it to rank web pages. My logic:

    Plus, if you ask them, they say they don't.

    But you don't have to take my word for it.
     
    rustybrick, May 31, 2005 IP
  18. Cheater

    Cheater Peon

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    I belive they use click data to make sure their algorithms are doing their job.
    They dont use the data to rank sites directly.
     
    Cheater, May 31, 2005 IP
  19. rustybrick

    rustybrick User ID 3

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    41
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    158
    #19
    Yea... Sounds right.
     
    rustybrick, May 31, 2005 IP