1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Google Subdomain treatment change?

Discussion in 'Google' started by mvandemar, Jan 18, 2007.

  1. #1
    Ok, for ages now Google has treated subdomains off of a main domain as separate domains in their own right. This is what allowed several loopholes into the ranking system. Last year one person exploited it to the point of ranking for tens of thousands of terms in a matter of months (see here). It allowed for the fact that links pointing back to the main domain counted as their own entity, instead of what would otherwise be considered a "sitewide" link.

    Today, something has changed that might impact that. Now when you do a site:www.domain.com search on domains that have thousands of subdomains, all of them show up, not just the ones on the main domain. This could be Google's answer to the subdomain exploit. Or, of course, it could just be another bug they didn't mean to introduce. :D

    More here.
    SEMrush
    Any thoughts?

    -Michael
     
    mvandemar, Jan 18, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. lorddomain

    lorddomain Banned

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Thanks... It is an interesting news. I intended to create few subdomains... but now I give up :)
     
    lorddomain, Jan 18, 2007 IP
  3. mvandemar

    mvandemar Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    307
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #3
    Well, I wouldn't change anything or give up hope quite yet. :p

    This just happened today, we need to see exactly how it affected serps and whatnot.

    Does anyone know of any searches, for instance, that about.com usually has high rankings for? Something we can use as a benchmark?

    -Michael
     
    mvandemar, Jan 18, 2007 IP
  4. sqeeze

    sqeeze Peon

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Well, actually I've noticed that in the end of the summer. I have a domain with three subdomains on it and every time I check indexed pages, all three subdomains with their sub-pages were included in results.
     
    sqeeze, Jan 19, 2007 IP
  5. mvandemar

    mvandemar Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    307
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #5
    No, this is new, I'm not the only one to notice it. It has always been that if you type site:domain.com all of the subdomains show as well, is this what you are thinking of?

    -Michael
     
    mvandemar, Jan 19, 2007 IP
  6. thegypsy

    thegypsy Peon

    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    109
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Yeah - it's been as such for quite a while now - methinks the spammers were having too much fun with SD spam
     
    thegypsy, Jan 19, 2007 IP
  7. KalvinB

    KalvinB Peon

    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    78
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    I use subdomains to segment my site. It makes it easier to track visitors and see which sections are doing well and which should just be lopped off.
     
    KalvinB, Jan 19, 2007 IP
  8. Pierce

    Pierce Active Member

    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    95
    #8
    I dont know what the article is about, site:www.domain.com only shows www.domain.com for me.

    However, if you do site:domain.com all subdomains come up.

    Pierce
     
    Pierce, Jan 19, 2007 IP
  9. Smyrl

    Smyrl Tomato Republic Staff

    Messages:
    13,537
    Likes Received:
    1,582
    Best Answers:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    510
    #9
    I wonder if this depends how your .htaccess handles domain.com and subdomain www.domain.com? I am picking up subdomains with both site:domain.com and site:www.domain.com.
     
    Smyrl, Jan 19, 2007 IP
  10. Pierce

    Pierce Active Member

    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    95
    #10
    Pierce, Jan 19, 2007 IP
  11. Freewebspace

    Freewebspace Notable Member

    Messages:
    6,215
    Likes Received:
    370
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    275
    #11
    After all we are having hundreds of links from forums.digitalpoint.com

    which happens to be a sub domain!

    forums.digitalpoint.com -subdomain

    That means we could hjave fun with creating thousands for sub domains in free hosting and we could point links from there to our websites
     
    Freewebspace, Jan 19, 2007 IP
  12. mvandemar

    mvandemar Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    307
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #12
    mvandemar, Jan 19, 2007 IP
  13. netmarketing

    netmarketing Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #13
    Interesting, can't wait to see how this will settle down.
     
    netmarketing, Jan 20, 2007 IP
  14. tusen

    tusen Active Member

    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    #14
    this is quite interesting... is the subdomain still a separate site or linked to the main domain?
     
    tusen, Jan 28, 2007 IP
  15. mcdar

    mcdar Peon

    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    110
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    I just did a search for site:www.blogspot.com on the Datacenter Watch Tool and different datacenters are returning different results.

    Example:
    216.239.51.107 = Your search - site:www.blogspot.com - did not match any documents.

    while others are reporting...

    216.239.53.107 = Results 1 - 10 of about 13,300,000 from www.blogspot.com. (0.02 seconds)

    and

    216.239.37.107 = Results 1 - 10 of about 12,600,000 from www.blogspot.com. (0.10 seconds)

    I have noticed that the site: search is returning some funky results across the datacenters lately!

    Caryl

    PS - My own site has eleven subdomains and a search for site:www.mcdar.net across the datacenters is showing the same distorted results for it as the results for blogspot above.
     
    mcdar, Jan 29, 2007 IP
  16. Pierce

    Pierce Active Member

    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    95
    #16
    still returning 0 results to me!!

    Pierce
     
    Pierce, Jan 29, 2007 IP
  17. sqeeze

    sqeeze Peon

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    It's too early to affirm or refute something, as the update is still in action. Things are changing daily and many theories crash before they born. Let's wait for a while before diving in controversy.
     
    sqeeze, Jan 29, 2007 IP
  18. dmhr

    dmhr Peon

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    See
    Results 1 - 10 of about 12,600,000 from www.blogspot.com.
    Results 1 - 10 of about 35,000,000 from blogspot.com.
     
    dmhr, Jan 29, 2007 IP
  19. dealne

    dealne Peon

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    I think the answer is some where in the middle, Google still consider sub-domains as separate entity, but the value of the link back to same website is decreased, while its considered a full domain link for outside websites.
     
    dealne, Feb 25, 2007 IP